Find UK Tuition

German, French,EFL and Spanish Tutor in Gosforth, Newcastle - Elaine

Elaine McNamee German (general) Tutor (Newcastle upon Tyne)

Elaine McNamee

  • Gosforth (NE3)
  • Last Logged In: 21 Mar 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: North Tyneside
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
There are many reasons to learn a language,and having this skill can only be in an asset in today's world. Whatever your motivation, I am keen to help and support you on your journey.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach German, French and Spanish to varying levels and can also offer EFL (English as a foreign language).
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a PGCE in secondary teaching in German / French; a BA Joint Honours degree (2:1) in German / French; a Cert TEFL (Grade A) and a DELE in Spanish ('A' Level equivalent).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught Languages in school for 20 years, mainly in the state sector up to GCSE (French) and 'A'Level (German), as well as Spanish to Key Stage 3. In addition, I have experience of teaching EFL in companies, language schools and privately in Spain. I also did some seasonal work teaching EAP (English for academic purposes) at the University of Sunderland. Consequently, I have worked with young children, teenagers, students, and professionals alike.
How much do you charge?
I generally charge between £20 and £25 per hour for individual tuition, depending on the level and location. I prefer to conduct classes in my own home, as I do not drive, but am happy to travel a short distance if this is necessary or preferred.

I would offer reduced rates for small groups.
Where do you teach?
I would prefer to give lessons at home, in the area of Gosforth in Newcastle, but am willing to travel short distances if that proves necessary.

As I do not drive, the student's home would have to be within easy access of public transport links, perhaps within a few miles radius from the centre of Newcastle but this could be negotiated.
When are you available?
This is open to discussion as my work patterns are often subject to change.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach any age, from children to adults, and according to the student's needs.

In terms of school qualifications, I can offer tuition in German up to 'A' Level and French and Spanish up to GCSE Level.

For foreign students, I can also offer tuition in English.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can help prepare students for 'A' level and GCSE in German and for GCSE on French and Spanish.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have a valid DBS certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the NUT.
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my PGCE in secondary teaching at Jordanhill campus which is part of the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have recently tutored a couple of young adults in beginners' / intermediate French who were going to start a new life in France.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a friendly and hard-working individual and would try and offer the best service for my students to achieve their goals, whatever they may be.