Find UK Tuition

Elaine Literacy/ English Tuition in Grantham, Lincs

Elaine Tomkow Reading Tutor (Nottingham)

Elaine Tomkow

  • Grantham (NG31)
  • Last Logged In: 06 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have many years of successful experience as a teacher, specialising in teaching reading and writing. I enjoy finding ways to make learning fun and successful for each individual.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My favourite subjects to teach are all literacy related - reading, writing, spelling, and handwriting. I am fascinated by the way children (and adults) learn to use language, and really enjoy helping learners to make progress. Whether you have a young/primary school child who might benefit from some extra support, or an older child who needs to develop specific literacy skills, I will be able to help. For adults who have either basic literacy needs or who need to develop their use of writing and reading for specific reasons (eg essay writing) I can provide the appropriate level of support and challenge to lead to success.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Teacher's Certificate, a B.Ed. degree, a Master's degree in Reading, and a PhD. My doctoral research examined how young children learn to spell.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years of experience as a class teacher in infant and junior schools, and I have also worked as a literacy support teacher, with children with special needs, and as a teacher of children with English as a second or third language. I also worked for many years training student teachers. I am very skilled at analysing a child or student's current strengths, identifying future needs, and matching interesting learning experiences to the situation. I am used to giving regular feedback, setting achievable targets and goals, and motivating all learners. I have all the necessary academic knowledge and teaching skill, plus lots of enthusiasm, patience, and understanding.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rate is £30, which includes all preparation and travel time. My first meeting with a child/student will be a thorough initial assessment session, following which I will provide a detailed written report and action plan. There will be no travel costs within Grantham.
Where do you teach?
I have a car and will travel throughout the Grantham area to work in your home. I might travel further afield in the right circumstances,although travel costs might apply. I can also teach in my home.
When are you available?
I am flexible with times and days of the week, depending on my other tutoring commitments.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach all ages and levels. If you feel I might be able to help you or your child to gain greater confidence, to improve skills, or to get greater pleasure from any aspect of reading and writing, please get in touch! I can offer support to those who need that extra help, or creative challenge those who just want to do better.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For essay writing tuition I can offer online support via email and Skype. Sample work will be set and assessed, followed by written and verbal feedback and support being provided.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have worked with a business man who needed to improve his report-writing skills, helped a Ph.D. student improve her punctuation, supported a forty year old man learning to read, and helped a Somali girl with note-taking and essay writing skills as she started university. Most of my work, though, has been with younger learners. One girl could read well, but without understanding what she was reading, and a young boy struggled to write quickly enough in class. Lately a lot of my time has been spent helping children whose handwriting needs to improve and be more legible.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Nowadays there is a great deal of choice when looking for a tutor. For example. there are national agencies and locally owned franchises with premises on the high street or near supermarkets, and many students also earn extra income by offering tutorial support. All of these options can be really useful - depending on the individual's needs. My tutoring differs from these in several key respects, and I think it's important that anyone looking for a tutor decides WHY support is needed, because the cost varies greatly and the type of support does, too. If a learner needs some general extra support and practice, joining a group or working through computer-based work can be ideal. If it's subject-specific academic support that's needed, a student with enthusiasm and knowledge can be good for the role. My strength comes from many years of teaching and assessment, plus an in-depth professional knowledge of how children and adults learn to read, write and spell. I can offer accurate assessments, carefully planned and structured sessions (which are also enjoyable!), and generally my students make quick progress and the tutoring ends after 5-10 sessions. I'm the person to call if a child seems to be losing confidence or falling behind his/her peers, or if you'd just like some impartial and independent advice on the progress being made.