Find UK Tuition

Emma Exams - Science/ Maths Tutor in Marylebone

Emma Exams GCSE Science Tutor (North West London)

Emma Exams

  • Marylebone (NW1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 26 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Kensington and Chelsea
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Education should draw out what is inside your mind and learning should be fun! I hope I never stop learning new things and I enjoy helping others learn.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach mainly Maths and Sciences to GCSE and Biology A level. I have also taught Geography, English, History and Art.
Tell me about your qualifications.
PGCE in Biological Sciences and Physical Sciences.
BSc Hons in Microbiology with Genetics
English, Maths, Chemistry and Physics Scottish Highers
Biology & Physics A level
11 O levels
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching since 1991 in London, Kent and Essex at comprehensive and public schools. I have been tutoring in homes and public spaces since 1994. I have been an exams officer since 2007 in a north London school with a large consortium Sixth Form. I now work as an Exams Offficer at a central London University.

I have several children of my own who are at varying stages of education. I have worked as education outreach worker for a charity and tour guide at the Hayward Gallery. I make films, write, sing and create video art and perform regularly.
How much do you charge?
£35 for students under 11
£40 for students to GCSE
£45 for A Level Biology
These prices include travel to North London zone 1-2.
If outside these zones additional travel expenses will be added as necessary and tutoring only undertaken if the time taken in travelling is deemed suitable.
Where do you teach?
I usually teach at the students home in North London including Camden, Kentish Town, Belsize Park, Primrose Hill, Hampstead, Highgate, Highbury. I have taught in Wembley, Golders Green, Finchley and Hertfordshire but only if the home is easy to reach / travel and time spent recompensed.

I have also taught in public spaces such as The Barbican centre, cafes and occasionally at my home if students attend Marylebone schools.
When are you available?
After school Monday - Thursday during term time. Some weekends by arrangement. Available daytime and evening during some school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught from age 7 to adult. I have taught basic hand-writing and Maths at KS1 and 2. I have taught lots of subjects at KS3 and mainly Maths and Sciences at KS4 although I have taught other subjects and also Biology A level.

In addition to these topics I have prepared students for school entrance exams - 11+ & 13+.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+
13+
(SATS)
FS
GCSE
GCE
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
depends upon when I am available and not out working.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Exams Officer Association.
Where and with whom did you train?
Cardiff University
Strawberry Hill
Tell me about some of your current students.
currently tutoring several students in central London including home schooled, Year 11 Science/Maths, Year 5 Maths/English, Year 9 Maths
Do you have a personal message for students?
Work hard. Play hard. Pursue your goals in life and you will enjoy your studies!