Find UK Tuition

Amber - English, EFL, Maths Tutor in Stoke Newington

Amber Armitage English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (Canterbury)

Amber Armitage Silver Member

  • Margate (CT9) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 01 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Canterbury
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Performing Arts
  • Professional Qualification Certificate of Education
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB
  • Professional Membership Equity, TEFL
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an enthusiastic and experienced English, Drama, EFL and Elocution tutor. Please contact me if you would like to learn!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all English, Maths and Science for students between KS1 to KS3. English Literature, English language GCSE.
I also teach EFL (English as a Foreign language), ESOL, Functional Skills, Drama, (particularly audition techniques, monologues) specialises in English pronunciation and elocution for overseas and native speakers.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Certificate of Education
MA in Performance Practice as Research
H.N.D-Performing Arts
NLP Coaching Certificate
What kind of experience do you have?
Over 10 years experience of teaching I am a qualified F.E lecturer who has experience of teaching English GCSE, Drama Btec Diploma, National Diploma, Certificate levels 1,2,and 3 and Access to University courses as well as short courses in Acting Methods and Styles and Audition Technique/Monologues. I have taught Literacy, Prop making, and Drama to SEN students on their Drama in the Community Course. I also have taught Movement and Key skills as well as teaching Radio Technique classes and Acting for Camera classes on the Media Btec. I have led and designed drama workshops for
I also worked for Transitional Care Education Services as a Learning Support Mentor/ tutor . I gave private one to one teaching sessions to pupils across all Key Stages who were excluded or difficult to place and taught across all subjects. I accomplished improving the behaviours of several students and implemented individual education plans that saw 5 out of 6 students achieve above (C) G.C.S.E results in English and Maths.
How much do you charge?
£30 per hour if you come to my house, £40 to come to you or £25 for online tuition.
Where do you teach?
I am based in Islington but am prepared to travel to other areas as long as the travel costs are included into tuition fee.
When are you available?
Afternoons/Evening and weekends.
I can possibly teach in the daytime, but you would need to consult me regarding this.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 7yr olds to adults
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
IELTS, TOEFL, LAMDA, GCSE's Btec, A-levels, KS1, 2, 3, 4
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
ATL, IFL, Equity
Where and with whom did you train?
University of East London,
Mountview Academy of Dramatic Art
International House
NLP Dynamics
Blackpool and Fylde College (Lancaster University)
Tell me about some of your current students.
I recently worked for a very high profile Russian family as a governess to 3 boys. I worked for them for 6 months tutoring them in all subjects with a particular focus on English, in preparation for them being sent to Boarding Schools in the UK. I currently teach adults TEFL, accent reduction and elocution. I also prepare students for monologue auditions to leading Drama Schools and Universities.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Education is power.