Find UK Tuition

Monica Janssens - English, French, Maths, History Tutor Kent/Sussex

Monica Janssens Key Stage 1 Science Tutor (Tonbridge)

Monica Janssens Gold Member

  • Rye (TN36)
  • Last Logged In: 25 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification English Literature 2(1).
  • Professional Qualification Law Post-graduate Diploma
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
A highly qualified, experienced tutor, I undertake short-term and long time roles and have prepared international children for entrance to Britain's top schools, from Winchester, Eton and Harrow to City of London, Westminster and St. Paul's.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Language and Literature to A Level, Drama to A Level, French to GCSE, Maths to 13+, Verbal and Non-verbal Reasoning Geography to 13+, Science to 13+
Tell me about your qualifications.
1994: Securities Institute Diploma, 1982: Banking Regulation and Compliance (pass) 1989-1990: Chamber of Commerce Business Italian (Distinction) 1982: College of Law, Solicitors’ Final Examination (pass) 1981: College of Law, Postgraduate Diploma in Law (pass) 1979: University of Hull, B.A. Hons. 2(i) in English Literature 1976-1979: Wimbledon High School GIRLS PUBLIC DAY SCHOOL TRUST O Levels – English Lit (A) French (A) History (A) English Lang (B) Maths (C) Art (B) Latin (B) A Levels – History (A) English (B) French (C)
What kind of experience do you have?
Feb-Aug 2012 Private tutor to a Russian family based in Moscow, preparing the children for British public school entry and assisting the mother with her studies of English Literature, Philosophy and Science. Private tutor to the fourteen-year-old daughter of the President of Nigeria, preparing her for secondary school, focusing on English and Maths. Private tutor to fourteen-year-old and seven-year old Russian children based in Monte Carlo, teaching them English and French. Private tutor to four-year-old Spanish girl, preparing her for 5+ entry to Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls. Phonics, alphabet, simple words through games and play. Basic numerals. Private tutor/governess to a six-year-old Russian girl in Moscow and Geneva, teaching her English from scratch. Phonics, alphabet, simple words through games and play, drawing and Music. Private tutor to an English St Paul’s pupil (two hours a week) preparing for her French GCSE. Working on writing, reading and speaking including pronunciation, vocabulary enlargement and expansion of conversation themes. Assisting with exam technique and helping with assessed coursework. Private tutor (two hours a week) to an English Francis Holland pupil preparing for her French and English GCSEs. In French, working on writing, reading and speaking, including pronunciation, vocabulary enlargement and expansion of conversation themes. Assisted with exam technique and helped with assessed coursework. Private tutor (three hours a week) to two brothers and one sister of a Greek family, ages 10 and 12, teaching beginners’ French to younger boy, and assisting the older boy and his twin sister with tenses, vocabulary etc and learning techniques. Preparing sister for examination. Preparing younger boy for 11+ in English, Maths and Reasoning Private tutor (four hours a day for two weeks) to a 10-year-old Japanese/English boy preparing him for 11+ examination at Winchester School. He passed his exams at the first attempt and his parents were delighted. Preparing (two hours a day for three weeks) a Canadian A2 student revising for AQA A2 English (A Streetcar Named Desire), in particular preparing examination techniques requiring intimate knowledge of linguistic terminology and dramatic effects. Assisting him with analysing dialogue styles and linguistic terminology both in colloquial English and in drama. Private tutor (four hours a week) to a five-year-old Russian girl, teaching her English alphabet, phonics etc. Private tutor (three hours a week) to a four-year-old English boy teaching him the alphabet and how to form small words. For experience prior to Feb 2012, please see My Files (right).
How much do you charge?
£40 per hour (includes travel etc)
Where do you teach?
At my home; at students' homes in and around London, Surrey and Sussex. Happy to travel maximum of 50 miles from TN36 4HR.
When are you available?
Available most afternoons, at weekends and during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 7 upwards
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+ and 13+ GCSE and A Level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Will tutor online
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Tutors' Association
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning can be fun. It's just a question of perspective.