Find UK Tuition

K Heardman - English for business and medicine

K Heardman Linguistics Tutor (Plymouth)

K Heardman Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) Music; MA Applied Linguistics; Diploma in Life Coaching and Counselling; Diploma in Psychology
  • Professional Qualification PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certificate
  • Professional Membership BHMA
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I always work together with students to set targets for the achievement of their specific goals so that they can monitor their progress and focus on attaining the grade they need.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I spend most of my time preparing individuals for professional exams in specialist medical areas, such as the MRCP, MRCS, GPAKT and CSA and FRCA exams. In addition to this, I prepare candidates for entry exams such as MLAT, GAMSAT and UKCAT, as well as A levels in Psychology, English and Music. I also teach violin and singing in preparation for performances and auditions.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA Applied Linguistics, PGCE, BA Hons in Music, Advanced Diploma in Anatomy and Physiology, Diplomas Psychology, Diploma in General Science, Diploma in Health Sciences, Professional Diploma in Life Coaching, Diploma in CBT, Diploma in Clinical Nutrition, Diploma in Professional Hypnotherapy.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 30 years' experience of teaching, across all age ranges and for a range of purposes. I support people in preparing for exams and overcoming any barriers to their achievements, including anxiety. I also coach and teach to the requirements of the particular exam to ensure that the student knows exactly what is expected to gain the marks available, and is able to build on their strengths and address any areas for impovement.
How much do you charge?
There are discounts available for blocks of five or ten lessons.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my own home in Wembury, Plymouth PL9 and via Skype.
When are you available?
I teach Monday to Friday 8am - 8pm and weekends by request.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Further and higher education; I teach A Level, provide degree and postgraduate dissertation support and also provide direction in stress management and target setting.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
MRCP; MRCS; GPAKT;GPCSA; MRCPCH; FRCA Primary and final; MRCOG; GAMSAT;UKCAT
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Applicants can pay for a lesson via Paypal or bank transfer and set up a tutorial via Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
National Education Union
BABCP
Musician's Union
BHMA
Do you have a personal message for students?
I work with the individual and tailor my approach to suit the learning style of the student; together we agree upon the target outcomes and then break it down into manageable and recognisable steps.