Find UK Tuition

Dr Seraphin - English language, Linguistics, French, Tutor in London

Dr Seraphin Linguistics Tutor (West Central London)

Dr Seraphin Gold Member

  • Bloomsbury (WC1H) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 18 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Brent, City of London, Greenwich, Haringey, Islington, Lewisham, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA Bilingual Studies (English, French, Linguistics, Translation/Interpretation)
  • Professional Qualification MA Linguistics, PhD Applied Linguistics
  • Professional Membership BAAL - British Association of Applied Linguistics; AILA - Association Internationale de Linguistique Appliquee - International Association of Applied Linguistics; IRA - International Reading Association; ASA-UK - African Studies Association-UK
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I enjoy teaching and guiding and supporting learners from various backgrounds. With adequate support, every learner has the potential to reach their goals. I have many years of experience teaching and lecturing in high schools and universities.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English language, Linguistics, French, Grammar, Sociolinguistics, Applied Linguistics, Bilingualism, Multilingualism, African history and culture, World Englishes, African Languages, Education and adult literacy, African history.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a PhD in Applied Linguistics from SOAS, University of London (England). I also hold an MA in Linguistics, and a BA in Bilingual Studies (French and English).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years of experience teaching and lecturing in high schools and universities.
How much do you charge?
from £15 to £35 per hour. This is a price range within which I'm flexible and will discuss and adjust the final cost to the the required subject and the specific student's circumstances.
Where do you teach?
I live in London. I can teach at home, or travel to the student's home, or to a commonly chosen location for the tutoring session. I can travel up to 10 miles from Central London in the Greater London area.
When are you available?
I'm available most days of the week, and I'm quite flexible regarding time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 16-17 years upwards. All levels.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do have a CRB certificate
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor online, through e-mail, Skype or Yahoo Messenger. So the tutoring can be done through correspondence, IM chatting or video discussion.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Where and with whom did you train?
I studied at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, England; the University of Yaounde, Cameroon; the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, USA; and the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, U.K.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Please see some of their testimonials (under Student Testimonials elsewhere on this page)
Do you have a personal message for students?
Your desire to learn and your effort to get some tutoring are the clear signs that you are capable of reaching your learning goals. As a learner, you have a huge potential that can get you to the top of your studies, and my role as your tutor is to help you reach that top.