Find UK Tuition

Barbara - English/ Literacy/ Horticulture Tutor Penzance, St.Ives, Truro, Falmouth, Cornwall

Barbara Tremain English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (Truro)

Barbara Tremain

  • Penzance (TR20) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 30 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Plymouth, South Hams, Torridge, West Devon
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi! I look forward to tutoring you in English as a Second or Foreign language, Adult Literacy or Proofreading your work.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English as a Second or Foreign Language
Adult Literacy
Proof Reading
Dissertation/Thesis support
Horticulture-Practical/Academic
Tell me about your qualifications.
TESOL (Trinity Cert)
PTLLS
Bsc Hons Horticulture
Literacy Level 2
Numeracy Level 2
What kind of experience do you have?
Teaching English as a Second language to many different nationalities
Teaching Horticulture online
Adult Education - supporting dyslexics with Literacy
Teaching Assistant in schools with SEN pupils
Mentoring
Family Learning Parents & Children Literacy through creative activities Art, Crafts,Cooking,Growing edibles indoors & outside
How much do you charge?
£20 per hour ESOL
£15 per hour Literacy
£15 per hour Proof Reading
£30 per hour Group/Family lessons
40 pence per mile travel
Discounts for Block Bookings Min 10 lessons
Where do you teach?
Will teach in students homes in Penzance, St.Ives, St.Just, Marazion, Hayle, Redruth, Camborne, Truro, Helston, Porthleven, Falmouth, Gulval in Cornwall. I am willing to travel 30 miles.
When are you available?
I am available Mon - Fri 10-4
Weekends and evenings on request
No seasonal variations
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I prefer age 14 and above, from beginner to upper intermediate
Younger considered upon request and need
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Practice and revision support ESOL/Literacy up to GCSE. ESOL PET, (B1) Cambridge FCE.(B2)
ESOL E1, E2, E3
Literacy Level 2
Proofreading help provided at any level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
I have six, as I work within several organisations
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Googletalk and Skype can be used for Language practice. discussion and question and answer sessions.

Proofreading can be submitted to me by email.

Bespoke packages can be designed for individual needs. Please enquire.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Institute for Learning
Institute of Horticulture
Where and with whom did you train?
Plymouth University
Haven House Truro Cornwall
Tell me about some of your current students.
Current CV is available to view on this site.

Online tutoring with Careerline Courses(Australia)

Proof Reading. UKUni University applications and academic work for non native English speakers. Mainly Chinese.

Adult Education services and Family learning (Cornwall Council) - Literacy, Horticulture,ESOL and mentoring,
Dyslexic support
SEN school pupils

Recent:

Dissertation Support for dyslexic teenage student Falmouth University

PhD Thesis support for adult Saudi Arabian Exeter University

Reading & writing education for adult dyslexic Private lessons

Proof reading for language errors in marketing and publicity information, The Donna Trust

ESOL:

Kent School of English European Teenagers

Academia Atlantico Malaga Spain PET (B1) Teens, Trinity A2 10-12 years, Cambridge FCE (B2) Teens. (Recently returned from Spain)
Private adults: Spanish clients: Architect B1 - Professional English ; Brain Surgeon - Conversation ; Co-ordinator Medicin Sans Frontiers - Professional English

Xploretheworld.com Summer school Westonbirt Gloucestershire European teens

Muchado Sprachen und Reisen Activity Holiday German Tour party Padstow

Private ESOL tutoring Professional Lithuanian IT teacher Advanced English

Private individual and group ESOL lessons

Personal English tutor for holiday visitors, with optional continued online support when returned home.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Please do approach me with your personal requirements, and I will endeavour to meet them accordingly.
All students are individual, and I can be adaptable.

I prefer a commitment to a series of 10 lessons or more, then consistent progress can be made, and a good working relationship established...but will consider all requests depending upon personal needs.