Find UK Tuition

Catherine Norris - English/ Literacy/ Dyslexia Tutor in Southport

Miss Catherine Norris Key Stage 1 English Tutor (Preston)

Miss Catherine Norris Gold Member

  • Southport (PR9)
  • Last Logged In: 01 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Liverpool
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc(Hons) Speech Pathology and Therapy
  • Professional Qualification Certified Irlen Screener

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I firmly believe that, with the right intervention, everyone is capable of  both reading and writing.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Literacy/English

I specialise in tuition for absolute beginners in reading and writing. My degree has given me great insight into both barriers to literacy, and pre-literacy skills that must be present before reading can be successful.

In my experience, adult literacy classes can require some reading skills before starting. This obviously creates a problem. I can begin at a level where the learner cannot read anything. I also take learners who lack reading confidence.

For children, the written word is going to be the foundation of most of their learning. That is why it is so important to get your child help if they are struggling to learn to read. Often just a few sessions are needed to get them started.

I plan an individual programme for every learner based on their needs. I use synthetic phonics to enable the child or adult to read independently sooner. I introduce sight words (words that cannot be sounded out) gradually, so the learner can read more complex material. Every session is tailored for the learner depending on their progress and strengths.

If you feel that I can help someone you know or to increase your own reading confidence, send me a message through the website so I can give you a call for a no obligation discussion. There is no obligation to sign up for multiple sessions. You can have as many or a few as you want.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc(Hons) Speech Pathology and Therapy
5 A-Levels (4As 1B)
11GCSES (all A*-B)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring English/literacy for seven years. I currently have more than twenty students on my books.
How much do you charge?
Tuition is £17.50 an hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach in students' homes.

I cover parts of Merseyside, Liverpool and Lancashire. I am willing to travel to Southport (including Marshside, Crossens, Birkdale and Ainsdale), Formby, Hightown, and Crosby.

If you live in another area, please contact me to discuss your requirements (additional charges may apply for travel to other areas).
When are you available?
I am available after school on weekdays and all day Saturday. I also have some daytime availability for adult learners.
I tutor Monday to Saturday during the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I tutor all ages - I currently have students from 5 to 79 years old!

For children I cover English/literacy at KS1, KS2 and KS3.

For adults, I can begin at a level where the learner cannot read anything. I also take learners who lack reading confidence.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype with shared screens when editing, so the learner understands the corrections.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (Non Practising)
Do you have a personal message for students?
If in doubt, get in touch for a free, no-obligation discussion about your requirements.