Find UK Tuition

English Tutor, Dulwich, 7+ 11+ upwards

Mischa Foster Poole 11+ exam Tutor (South East London)

Mischa Foster Poole Silver Member

  • East Dulwich (SE15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 14 May 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, City of London, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Tower Hamlets, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA English Literature (Oxford)
  • Professional Qualification CertTESOL from Trinity College London
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB Certificate
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I encourage students to challenge assumptions, think for themselves, and generally see learning as a creative process rather than a passive one.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Literature, EFL (English as a Foreign language), Music and Piano (early levels), Art
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA in English Literature from Oxford University
CertTESOL from Trinity College London
MA in Creative Writing: Poetic Practice (Distinction) from Royal Holloway
What kind of experience do you have?
English as a Foreign Language: I have taught General English, Business English, English for Law, Military English and Academic English, to students of all levels and ages in London, Granada, Kiev, Paris and Berlin. I have helped students to achieve the required grades for the TOEIC and IELTS exams to get into their chosen university, to prepare for postgraduate interviews and conferences at Cambridge University, and with other doctoral work. I’ve also helped students to pass the entrance exams for the Collège interarmées de défense (CID) in Paris. I also run classes and a film club for English language learners.

English Literature: I have helped students with 7+, 11+, Common Entrance at 13+ exams (for St Olave’s, Wilson’s School & Wallingford) and GCSE and IGCSE (WJEC, CIE, AQA). Set texts covered include: The Tempest, Julius Caesar, Macbeth, I’m the King of the Castle, Purple Hibiscus and the poetry of Thomas Hardy and Ted Hughes. I have also helped students build literacy and numeracy skills, and general confidence, at the Key Stage 1&2 level, and find tutoring children at this age and stage of development interesting and rewarding.

Piano, Music & Chess: I have taught piano and chess at the beginner and lower levels. I currently have a chess ELO rating of around 1600.
How much do you charge?
£55 per hour

Subject offered at a lower rate are subject to an additional travel fee depending on the location of the lessons.

I offer substantial discounts for low income and unwaged families, especially if they are able to come to me for the lessons. Please get in touch if this applies to you, and we can discuss possibilities.
Where do you teach?
London, especially Dulwich and South-East London, but also Central London and West London.
When are you available?
I am currently free from 1-8pm Monday to Friday. I will also consider one-off weekend teaching sessions, or lessons after 8pm, at a higher rate. Lessons based in the Peckham/East Dulwich area are more likely to fit into my timetable.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Any age, any level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
7+, 11+, 13+, GCSE and A Level
Piano Grades 1-3
Music Theory grades 1-6
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype or Google hangout
Where and with whom did you train?
Magdalen College, Oxford University
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently teaching 7+, 11+, English Literature, English Language, Chess, Piano and music theory to adults and children around London and by Skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I grew up in Dulwich, and went to Dulwich Prep, and since my childhood have always spent a great deal of my free time learning about things which were outside the syllabus of my education -- about the arts, history, philosophy and languages in particular -- because I have always seen learning as a delightful thing in itself, as well as having a practical purpose. I think this love of learning carries through into my teaching, where I try to create the same enthusiasm and interest in my pupils. I am particularly sympathetic to students who are uncomfortable about simply following rules and learning things for no apparent reason, and I try to encourage students to challenge assumptions, think for themselves, and generally see learning as a creative process rather than a passive one.