Find UK Tuition

11+, English, and Maths Tutor in West London and Oxford

Dr J Preece 11+ exam Tutor (West London)

Dr J Preece Gold Member

  • Ravenscourt Park (W4)
  • Last Logged In: 08 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Ealing, Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea, Richmond upon Thames, Wandsworth
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification University of Oxford - MSt, DPhil
  • Professional Qualification University of Birmingham - BMus - 1st Class honours
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS certificate
  • Professional Membership Tutoring Association of Teachers and Lecturers, MMA
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
A proactive, intelligent and experienced tutor specialising in English and Maths for 11+ exams, GCSE's and A level.

At the moment, I am based in Oxford during the week but travel down to London to teach on Friday evening and Saturday.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor for all components of the 11+ and Common Entrance exam including Verbal Reasoning, Non Verbal Reasoning, Mathematics, English and Science.
I also tutor English and Maths from KS2 up to GCSE level.

I can also offer tuition for the QTS Literacy and Numeracy tests

I offer academic music tuition from GCSE to degree level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
University of Oxford - DPhil in Music
University of Oxford - MSt in Music - High Pass
University of Birmingham - BMus in Music - 1st Class Honours with COMPASS Prize in Composition
Slough Grammar School - IB Diploma

Professional Qualifications
University of Buckingham - PGCE Secondary Teaching
NVQ Level 2 - First Aid Qualification
What kind of experience do you have?
I have six years experience tutoring for 11+ and Common Entrance examinations. My pupils have gained places at Charterhouse School, Surrey; Sherborne School, Dorset; Kew House School, London; St. James School, Surrey; Emmanuel School, London; John Lyon School, Harrow; and St. Benedict's School, London. I have successfully coached students for the audition and interview process at New College School, Oxford. In addition, I have prepared candidates for the Eton College exam and interview process. I also tutor for grammar school examinations outside London; all my students passed their Buckinghamshire and Berkshire 11+ exams in 2014.

This academic year all my students have gained places at their first choice schools, including: Godolphin and Latymer School, Merchant Taylors' School (with an academic scholarship), Kew House School, Holland Park School; St. Benedict's School; Ibsock Place; in London. Others schools have included Wychwood School in Oxford and St James' School in Surrey.

I tutor for 7+ exams with a high degree of success. My students have won places at Abingdon Prep School, Oxford; Falcon School, London; King's House School, London; and Port Regis School, Dorset. Most recently one of my students gained a place at King's House School on a full bursary.

I tutor English and Maths up to GCSE. I'll typically begin working with these students at the outset of the autumn or spring term in year 11 until their exams the following May. Last year all my GCSE students went up at least two grade boundaries.
How much do you charge?
I charge between £30.00 - £47.00 per hour depending on the level of qualification being taught. Discounts are available for block booking.
Where do you teach?
I typically teach at students's homes. I am willing to travel to West and Central London, including: Chiswick, Ealing, Hammersmith, Shepherds Bush, Notting Hill, Hayes, Hillingdon, Southall, Northolt, Greenford.

In Oxfordshire, I mostly teach from my home in Hailey (OX29) but could also travel to Witney, Woodstock, Enstone, and Central Oxford
When are you available?
I'm available on Fridays and Saturdays in London and on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings, and all day Thursday in Oxford. However, I can be a lot more flexible during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
English and Maths from KS2 up to GCSE

Music from GCSE up to degree level.
Piano - Beginners up to diploma
Guitar - Beginners to Grade 5
Music Theory - Grade 1 - 8
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare candidates for the Department of Education Professional Skills test in Literacy and Maths.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do have an up to date DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am more than happy to tutor over skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Associate member of the Tutors' Association
Member of the Musicians Union
Where and with whom did you train?
2015-16 PGCE in Secondary Teaching with the University of Buckingham
2011 Tutorial teacher training at Oxford University