Find UK Tuition

English/ Maths/ Dyslexia/ SEN Tutor in Stourbridge - Zoe Aaron

Zoe Aaron Dyslexia Tutor (Dudley)

Zoe Aaron Gold Member

  • Wollaston (DY8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 18 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BEd Primary QTS with English
  • Professional Qualification Master of Education
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have a current DBS and am on the update service
  • Professional Membership Dyslexia Guild membership, Associate level

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I CURRENTLY HAVE AVAILABILITY FOR 11+ AND 'CATCH UP' TUITION FROM JUNE AND CONTINUING OVER THE SUMMER HOLIDAYS, PLUS ALL ASPECTS OF UNIVERSITY STUDY SKILLS AND PROOFREADING.
Please get in touch for a friendly chat about how I can help.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
As an experienced Higher Education Specialist Study Skills tutor, I am available to help with college and university applications, QTS and other entrance tests, essay writing, exam revision and other aspects of college/university work.
I teach English and maths from primary school age to adult, plus basic skills/study skills for students with Special Educational Needs such as dyslexia, dyspraxia and dyscalculia.
Together, we will identify areas to work on, for example: fractions, word problems, proofreading and grammar. Using a multisensory approach (not just textbooks!), we can revisit topics as many times as needed for you to feel confident.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a qualified teacher with a Masters degree in Applied Linguistics (English language teaching) and Special Educational Needs (dyslexia). I have Associate Membership of The Dyslexia Guild, in recognition of my qualifications and experience in the area of dyslexia tuition.

MEd: I have a Masters Degree in Education, completed in 2013.
The modules I studied are as follows:
`Educational enquiry` (research in education) (2013)
`Investigating language in action`(supporting learners of English) (2012)
`Difficulties in literacy development` (specifically dyslexia) (2008)

British Dyslexia Association and Unicorn Maths- `Dyscalculia Plus` (2012)
BEd Primary with Qualified Teacher Status (subject specialism English) (2003)
BTEC National Diploma in Childhood Studies (Learning and development 0-8 years) (1999)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been a full-time tutor since 2011 and still work with many of the families I began with in that first year. I am also a University Specialist Study Skills tutor. In this role I support students who have learning difficulties, enabling them to understand and complete coursework and exams.
Prior to this, I was a primary school teacher for eight years.
I have also worked as a nursery nurse and nanny, so have a wide range of experience with learners of all ages.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour depending on the level required. This is inclusive of the hour of tuition, travel or use of my home office, planning and preparation time and resources.
I offer a free initial session where we can chat about your requirements and then have a short trial session for the student.
I am happy to work with more than one child at a time, for example friends or siblings, and am able to offer a discount for this.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach from my own home, as I have a purpose built office where all of my resources are kept. For students where travel is not a possibility, I do offer online lessons which are a convenient and effective way to learn.
I provide tuition to students from across the West Midlands: Stourbridge, Wollaston, Lye, Dudley, Hagley, Clent, Brierley Hill, Quarry Bank, Cradley Heath, Old Hill, Wolverhampton, Kinver, Six Ashes, Bridgnorth, Stourport, Birmingham and more.
When are you available?
I work Monday to Thursday, from 9am to 9pm, and some weekends. I am available in school holidays, and can be flexible with days and times.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have worked with students from age 3 to 60, covering all levels of primary school education right up to University level study skills support.
I am currently available for:
SATs and 11+
QTS tests
Key Stage 2 'catch up' sessions
Helping parents to understand the curriculum/new methods
Home education for all ages
Maths and English at Key Stage 3
GCSE help for students who are struggling to get grade 4/5
College and University study skills- organisation, planning, understanding assignments, revision and much more
Homework/coursework help

Please contact me with your individual requirements.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have experience tutoring for SATs, 11+, GCSEs for those students who are really struggling, QTS tests, and Functional Skills exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online via Skype and Google Docs (plus other platforms if the subject requires)- if this is something that would suit your situation then please do get in touch to discuss.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of The Tutors Association and have Associate Membership of The Dyslexia Guild. Please see https://training.dyslexiaaction.org.uk/civicrm/profile?reset=1&force=1&gid=263
Where and with whom did you train?
I completed my first degree and teacher training at Newman College of Higher Education from 2000 to 2003. I then studied at The Open University for my Masters, completed in 2013. I have undertaken additional courses with The British Dyslexia Association.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I work with a really wide range of ages and abilities and different situations.
Many of my students have some kind of disability or learning difference, such as dyslexia. They have found school difficult and need some help to build their confidence, and revisit topics covered in school.
Some of my students are home educated and so I have planned a tailored maths and English curriculum for them, incorporating their interests and different topics. I have many students who have been with me since I began tutoring in 2011- I have taken them through some of primary school, through their SATs and Key Stage 3, and am now working with them towards GCSEs.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I understand the pressures of school, college and university and that finding the right tutor can make such a difference in terms of confidence, achievement and enjoyment. Please get in touch for a friendly, informal and reassuring chat.