Find UK Tuition

Nuala Hurst Marshall - English & Maths Tutor

Nuala Hurst Marshall GCSE English Tutor (North London)

Nuala Hurst Marshall

  • East Finchley (N2)
  • Last Logged In: 14 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Enfield, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello! I'm an experienced English and maths tutor who provides relaxed and enjoyable lessons that develop my students' independent thought. *I am only in London until early August and so am only available for short-term tutoring.*
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor students in English from KS2 to A Level and maths at KS1 and 2. Lastly, I tutor for the 11 plus exam, both English and Maths.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a first class English degree from Queen Mary, (UoL) and a Masters in Contemporary Literature from King's College (UoL) for which I received a Distinction. I have A Levels in English Literature, Theatre Studies and Philosophy.
What kind of experience do you have?
August 2014 - Present - Private English and Maths Tutor:
I currently work as a tutor, supporting students with in English and Maths. I work on reading and comprehension, close textual analysis, essay writing, fiction and non-fiction writing and verbal communication skills for English, and all elements of the KS 1 and 2 maths syllabus.
I help students with homework and end of term assessments, as well as assessed coursework and exam preparation. I find private tutoring to be a wonderful career which allows me to utilise my passion for literature and maths in order to inspire my students to achieve their potential. I believe that a relationship of trust and honesty is the most important factor in a student’s success and, therefore, that my kind and friendly approach is one of my strengths as a tutor. I always aim for variety in my lessons and I frequently employ a range of resources such as visual learning devises and even songs to encourage my student’s development. One of the most fascinating elements of working as a tutor is experiencing the diversity in students and their needs, and I am able to vary my teaching style and methods in order to get the best out of every pupil.

November 2013 - April 2014 - Tutor at Bishop Challoner Catholic Collegiate School:
I worked with students in years 7-13 one-to-one to assist with classwork and coursework. My role was to help the students to understand their assignments, to clarify the course content and to help with essay writing. I assisted the students in expanding their own ideas and to developing the skills necessary for exam success. I also worked with students during their classes to help aid concentration, explain the class material and push them to work to the best of their ability. My role at the school was incredibly rewarding. Many of the students are challenging but working with them is extremely interesting and building good working relationships is very fulfilling.
How much do you charge?
I charge £32 for single student lessons.
For travel outside of zone 3, I expect some compensation for travel costs
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach in a student's home although I can work in other environments such as local cafes or libraries if the student prefers.
I live in North London but I am happy to travel within London
When are you available?
I have availability throughout the week, as well as weekends.

I currently teach in South Kensington three times a week and am particularly interested in jobs in a similar area.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach students from primary school age to adult.
In addition, I have experience with students for whom English is not their first language.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+, GCSE, A Level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to tutor online via Skype or Facetime.
Tell me about some of your current students.
One current student is a twelve year old boy who is very gifted at maths and science but struggles with English. I was approached by his parents to work with their son to assist him in achieving a 6A in his end of year assessment. I realised that this student frequently understood the questions I asked him, but was hesitant to answer in case he was incorrect. I developed lesson plans which worked from knowledge I knew he had, into unfamiliar territory in order to build his confidence. I also discovered that he enjoyed creative writing, and I developed these skills with him until he started to feel more positively about English as a subject. After I worked with him on his end of year assessment, the student achieved the 6A he wanted. I am looking forward to continuing to support him through Year 9 in preparation for his GCSE.

I am also currently working with an AS student to prepare him for his exams at the end of the year. Throughout the year I will work with him on each of his four set texts, as well as covering essay writing and revision techniques.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I aim to create a friendly atmosphere in my lessons which promotes hard work and a willingness to try new things. I hope that my love of both English and maths will help my students to enjoy their lessons too!