Find UK Tuition

English, Reading, Adult Literacy Tutor in S Tottenham,, Hackney

Miss Diane Adult Literacy/ Numeracy Tutor (North London)

Miss Diane

  • Seven Sisters (N15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 10 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
The saying is, "No pain, no gain." My attitude is just the opposite. I like to make learning as easy and enjoyable as possible for both children and adults. If learning is a struggle, come to me and let me take the heat out of the situation.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English at beginning, primary, secondary and college levels. I specialise in helping children and adults who are struggling with reading and writing. My aim is to raise levels of literacy and to enable children and adults to read and write with pleasure. This involves using a wide variety of reading materials, building vocabulary, playing word games, dictionary and thesaurus work, easy ways to plan writing, fun writing projects, etc.

I teach handwriting to children and adults. I also teach touch typing.

I teach English literature and text analysis, how to write a classic outline, write, revise and correct essays. I work directly from the text, working through it with the student to ensure that s/he follows the narrative and understands the structure, themes, vocabulary and imagery. I do a lot of work with poetry, inspiring primary and secondary pupils to understand and appreciate great literature. I have taken bored teenagers and turned them into lovers of Shakespeare and great English poetry!

I teach arithmetic to primary school children. Please note that this is remedial maths for children who are struggling, which roughly covers Years 1-3 and includes number fluency: counting on and back, number bonds, mental maths, adding, subtracting, multiplication and division and an assortment of strategies for dealing with number problems. I use dice, cards and other fun items to make everything easy. I'm happy to do this for students of any age who need basic maths.

I teach ESOL/EFL.

I teach study skills and essay writing, beginning with basic structured writing for primary school children and going up to secondary and FE levels.

My general aim is to help children and adults increase their levels of literacy and numeracy and to improve their study skills. I don't usually coach specifically for exams, but teach the skills that enable children to pass them.

I have a performance background and give training in public speaking and presentation techniques.

I am also available to do art projects with children.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA in Theatre Arts Performance with Great Distinction from California State University Long Beach (1979).

Cambridge University Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults Grade A (2002)

PGCE in Literacy (Post-Compulsory) from the Institute of Education, University of London (2009)

Qualified Teacher Learning & Skills IFL (2010).

City & Guilds Certificate in Pottery Skills from Hackney College (1996).
What kind of experience do you have?
I am currently setting up a website and writing books for adults with reading problems.

I am writing my second book, Terrific Twos: how to mange your two-year old

I have already published my first book, Are you talking to me? A handbook of good manners for inner city children, now available from Amazon (author name: Diane Rose).


I have taught:
Children and adults with literacy and numeracy difficulties.
Children with learning difficulties, developmental delay, autism and visual impairment.
Primary and secondary pupils who needed help with grammar, writing and study skills.
Gifted secondary pupils who were underachieving, teaching them English literature and essay writing.


I have worked in a primary school as a Learning Support Assistant with children with disabilities or learning difficulties.
I have run art programmes in primary schools.

I have taught GCSE English at a SEN secondary school.
I have taught ESOL at a London college.
I have taught ESOL at community centres.

I have taught community classes for adults and children in English, history and art.
I have run homework clubs on housing estates for ages 8-19.
I have run stay and play sessions and toy libraries for under fives.
I have worked as a governess/home school tutor
How much do you charge?
My fee structure:
£35 for a lesson at your home.
£30 for a lesson if you come to my home.

If you live outside my area (please see below) and want a home visit, I can only do this if you are within quick and easy reach by public transport from my home or other work. Contact me if you wish to discuss your situation.

I am happy to teach small groups and charge £10ph for each extra person.

If you are learning English as a speaker of another language, I am happy to discuss setting up a small class.
Where do you teach?
I generally teach children in their own homes. Adult students usually come to me. My area is roughly N15, N16 and E5, which is South Tottenham, Stamford Hill, Stoke Newington and Upper Clapton. My local stations are South Tottenham and Seven Sisters.

I can go to convenient locations on the Victoria and Piccadilly lines and the Gospel Oak to Barking overground line or areas reached by an easy bus journey.

I currently teach in South Tottenham, Turnpike Lane, Crouch End and Muswell Hill.

Please see current availability below.
When are you available?
General availability:
Children: after school, Sundays, half-terms and holidays.
Adults: daytime, evenings, Sundays and holidays.

Current availability:
Children: I have the Tuesday and Thursday after school slots free. I am available for special tuition over the May half-term and summer holidays in 2018.
Adults: My schedule is basically full, with the exception of a 9:00-10:00 slot on Tuesdays and Thursdays at my home. My adult schedule changes frequently, so contact me if you want to be on my waiting list. I am also available for more intensive tuition over the summer holidays.

Important notes:
I will contact you initially by email, usually on the same day I receive your email. Please check your junk email if you think you haven't heard from me.
When you contact me, please tell me roughly where you live, e.g., "by Finsbury Park station" or "near the junction of Seven Sisters and Holloway Rd." That way I know whether it's possible to fit you in my timetable. Sometimes I can squeeze in a lesson if it works well with my other bookings. Thanks.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I work with all ages, from toddlers up to pensioners, depending on the subject. I teach English at all levels, general education for under fives and KS1. I teach literacy and handwriting skills to children and adults of any age.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prefer to focus on teaching the reading and writing skills that will last a lifetime. Having said that, I have coached for SATs and the 11 plus. I work on text comprehension, including ways to read more effectively, and strategies for handling the exam.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS (Enhanced Disclosure) and I'm registered with the online update service, which ensures that I am always safe! I am happy to show my documents and be interviewed by parents in person or on the phone.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I don't do online tutoring. My apologies to foreign students who are learning English. If you are considering coming to London to study English, contact me if you'd like a private EFL course, either for an individual or group. I specialise in spoken English and presentation skills for foreign professionals.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I teach private lessons full-time.

I am currently teaching handwriting, grammar, reading, writing and touch typing to 9 primary school children.

I am teaching English composition and literature and handwriting to 2 secondary school children.

I am teaching reading, writing and handwriting to 5 adults.

I am teaching EFL to one teenager and one adult.

I am supporting one university student with essay writing.

I am giving performance-style lectures on Shakespeare's "Macbeth."
Do you have a personal message for students?
Don't think that because you are struggling that you will never learn or never improve. Anyone can learn, anyone can improve. The right teacher will show you that the work isn't as difficult as you think and that your abilities are greater than you imagine. And don't think it is too late for you to learn. It is never too late!