Find UK Tuition

English/ 11+/ History/ Politics Tutor in Harringay - Maria Arbiter

Maria Arbiter Key Stage 2 English Tutor (North London)

Maria Arbiter

  • Crouch End (N4)
  • Last Logged In: 15 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, Hackney, Islington
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced and friendly 11+, GCSE, A-Level and degree level tutor. I have been preparing students for exams for seven years and have learnt how to help each individual get into their choice of secondary school and achieve As and A*s.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English and Maths for 11+ and 13+ exams. I teach English, Sociology and History GCSE. I teach Health and Social Care BTECS. I teach Psychology, Politics and History A-Levels. I work with undergraduate and postgraduate students, equipping them to write excellent essays. I have been trained by university admissions tutors to work with students to write outstanding personal statements and take students through all other aspects of the UCAS application process. I know what students need to attain Russell Group university offers.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I got 8 A*s and 2 As at GCSE. I got three As in my A-Levels (before it was possible to get an A*!), attaining 297/300 in my Psychology A-Level and 295/300 in my Politics A-Level. I got a First Class degree from Bristol in History and a Merit from UCL in Social Anthropology. I recently also completed an NHS based training in 'Working with Children and Young people' at the Tavistock and Portman.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have tutored throughout my career, working with primary school students, and preparing students for 11+ and 13+ entry, GCSEs, A-Levels and university exams. I have an excellent track record of supporting students to raise their grades for public exams.

My experience of working as an NHS Child and Adolescent psychotherapist means that I am highly experienced in working with teenagers who are finding it hard to focus or are feeling lost or demotivated in relation to their work. I also have a great deal of experience working with children who have Special Educational needs, ADHD and ASC.
I have also worked as a school based English, Psychology, History and Politics GCSE and A-Level tutor. I have led full courses in English GCSE, R.E. GCSE and Psychology A-Level.

I am an experienced proofreader and have worked with many people to help them improve their written English for undergraduate and postgraduate level submissions.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I tutor at home and can travel to students' homes in Harringey, Islington, Camden, Hackney, Hampstead, Crouch End, Tottenham, Seven Sisters, Old Street and Angel.
When are you available?
I am flexible during the week.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children and adults of all ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for 11+ and 13+ entrance exams, SATs, GCSEs, A-Levels, BTECs, undergraduate degrees and postgraduate degrees.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am able to tutor online for all subjects.