Find UK Tuition

English/ 11+ Tutor in Banbury - Karen Pitts

Karen Pitts A-level English Tutor (Oxford)

Karen Pitts Silver Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA in English Language and Literature from the University of Aberdeen
  • Professional Qualification PGCEA and MSc in Education
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Recent DBS certificate
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I believe that increasing a student’s confidence in the use of English is the key to success in many areas of their studies. I develop materials to suit the individual student’s learning style and interests.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am equally enthusiastic about teaching English Language and English Literature. Both subjects are fascinating and I love to pass on my passion for the subjects to my students. I have also taught Mathematics, Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning to pre-GCSE pupils.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Masters of Arts degree in English (Language and Literature) from the University of Aberdeen; a Masters degree in English Literature from the University of Herfordshire; a PGCEA and a Master of Science degree in Education from the University of Surrey.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been Head of English in a large further education college for 14 years. I have taught English Language and Literature to students aged 10 - 80 and managed a staff of 6 English teachers. I have been a personal tutor for 2 years.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 per hour for KS3 children (11 - 14 years, non-entrance exams). All other lessons are charged at £30 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach students in their own homes. I am happy to travel within 10 miles of Banbury to towns such as Bloxham, Hanwell, Bodicote, Addlebury, Hanwell, Drayton etc.
When are you available?
I am available on week days, Monday - Thursday, between 9am and 7pm. I am happy to teach through the school holidays, as required by the client.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students of all ages from 10 - 80.
I teach pre-GCSE or adult literacy level 1 through to undergraduate level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have experience of preparing students for: 11+ and 13+ entrance exams; GCSE; AS and A Levels; undergraduate essay and dissertation work.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a recent DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have taught students via Skype and the Google Drive.
Where and with whom did you train?
Master of Arts in English - University of Aberdeen
Master of Arts in English Literature - University of Hertfordshire
Post Graduate Certificate in Educating Adults (14+) - University of Surrey
Master of Science in Education - University of Surrey