Find UK Tuition

English/ EFL/ 11+ Tutor in Battersea - Clare M E Mulley

Clare M E Mulley A-level English Tutor (South West London)

Clare M E Mulley Silver Member

  • Battersea (SW11) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 08 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Hons) English, St Andrews
  • Professional Qualification Trinity Cert. TESOL
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS checked
  • Professional Membership The UK Battlefields Trust
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello, I'm Clare. I am a published poet, journalist and creative writing tutor, with a lot of varied experience in teaching one-to-one across a range of ages and syllabuses. By day, I'm a school librarian, reading silly books to children.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My specialisms are English, Literacy and Creative Writing; my knowledge of the literary canon is excellent, and I have helped students gain confidence in writing anything from poems to formal letters and articles. I also enjoy teaching English as a foreign language.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA(Hons) in English and Scottish Literature from The University of St Andrews, and a Trinity Cert. TESOL.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught children one to one for over five years, and have been teaching classes of 10-15 children for two years. For a year, I worked part-time in an English Language college in Putney with groups of adults. My poetry work takes me everywhere; I have written in the Arctic, given educational talks on battlefields, workshopped in schools as a visiting author, performed at the Tate and tutored GCSE students at the Scottish Creative writing centre with award-winning authors Niall Griffiths and Horatio Clare.
How much do you charge?
Normally, I charge £40 per hour, but in families with more than one child I will offer a discount. I will also offer a £5 discount when the student comes to me. All fees are negotiable depending on the circumstances.
Where do you teach?
I teach both at students' homes and from home in Battersea. At the moment, I already travel to Chelsea and Kensington to tutor, and am willing to travel to Fulham, Westminster, Belgravia, Hammersmith, Putney and Clapham.
When are you available?
My tuition days are Tuesday from 6pm-8:30pm and Wednesday-Friday from 4pm-8pm. I am happy to provide some tuition during school holiday periods, which I arrange as circumstances permit.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach any age from 5 onwards, although 11 onwards is more common. Younger students come to me for help with reading, schoolwork and creative writing, while I generally support older students through exams, textual analysis, core writing skills and interview practice. I would be glad to teach any students undertaking Creative Writing at A level or university standard.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Generally, I prepare students for 11+, Common Entrance, GCSE and A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, my DBS is up to date.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Online tuition is done over skype, either by microphone or by typed message correspondence if the signal is not strong. When appropriate, I will accept a student sending me work for proofreading, and will type a full critical response in return, which they can use to improve on their work - this can sometimes work in place of a lesson, if limited time is a problem.
Do you have a personal message for students?
The two main things I always tell my students are...
1) Don't worry! Everyone needs some help.
2)Try your best, and you'll already be better than you think.