Find UK Tuition

English Lit/ Journalism/ Writing Tutor in Battersea - Dr Tom Ogier

Dr Tom Ogier University English Tutor (South West London)

Dr Tom Ogier Gold Member

  • Battersea (SW11) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification PhD : Literature : Dr of Philosophy in the Novel
  • Professional Qualification University Lecturer
  • Professional Membership University of Kent
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello, I'm Dr Tom Ogier and I love teaching literature, film, creative writing and similar subjects. I live and work in an art studio in Battersea, and I paint and write novels.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I love teaching literature, film, creative writing and journalism.
At Kent University I also teach 'Reading the Twentieth Century' which involves linking art and writing to its historical context and political movements.
I have also successfully tutored people wishing to apply to universities, including Oxford.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a PhD in Literature, 'Dr of Philosophy in the Novel' an MA in Creative Writing and a BA in English and American Literature and Film Studies.
I am also a Press Association - trained journalist with years of experience in many different areas.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years of experience in both journalism - and a wide range of roles within that profession - as well as years of academic research and teaching at University level. I also tutor people who just want to learn more about / enjoy / develop their appreciation of literature, film, etc ... or write their own material.
How much do you charge?
I charge about £35 per hour, depending on where the classes take place, and what the student(s) are interested in.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my art studio in Battersea - next to Battersea Park - or in mutually convenient places like cafes and libraries, or in the client's place.
When are you available?
I have great flexibility.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach adults.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to tutor online, whether through skype or other programs.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at Kent University and with the Press Association.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a friendly, relaxed and approachable person, who takes an interest in what you want from your tuition. I enjoy my work very much.