Find UK Tuition

English/ EFL/ French Tutor in Blackheath - Caroline Frankau

Caroline Frankau A-level English Tutor (South East London)

Caroline Frankau Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA in French & Spanish, University of Edinburgh (1999)
  • Professional Qualification MA in Interpreting & Translation, University of Bradford (2000)
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a French and English tutor, educated to Master's degree level. I specialise in exam coaching for GCSE and A-Level students, covering all aspects of the examining board syllabus. I offer specially-developed courses for adult language learners.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French, English literature and language and English as a Foreign Language (EFL).
Tell me about your qualifications.
2000: MA in Interpreting & Translation, University of Bradford
1999: MA in French & Spanish (2:1), University of Edinburgh
1995: A-Levels in French (A), English Literature (A) and Spanish (B)
1993: 9 GCSEs, including French (A) and English Literature & Language (A)

My university course elements included: French and Spanish literature and cinema studies, simultaneous and consecutive interpreting, translation, précis writing and proofreading. My year abroad studies included teaching in Spain and a 3-month training course at the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, shadowing members of staff in the English Translation Division.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring since my university days in the late nineties. As a student, I lived in Zaragoza, Spain, where I taught classes of students aged between 11 and 18, usually in groups of 20 to 30. As a native English speaker I was much in demand for private lessons and had a weekly rota of a dozen students aged from 6 to 60! I loved one-to-one tuition and continued teaching EFL classes when I returned to the UK. Since I started my family in 2008 I have added French and English Literature classes to my repertoire and teach around my family commitments.

In my professional career as a linguist between 2000 and 2008, I worked as an in-house translator and in various project management roles for clients as diverse as the BBC, Virgin Atlantic and the Ministry of Defence. I even interpreted (briefly!) for Gérard Depardieu on the 'So Graham Norton' show.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 p/h for French and English tuition. Longer lessons and workshops on essay writing or novels/plays analysis are priced on request. I do not charge for travel time or travel expenses.

I offer a free 20-minute consultation for all students considering tuition. The consultation includes an ability test and a chance to chat about how tuition works and how it can benefit you.
Where do you teach?
I teach at home in Lewisham SE London. I can also travel to Greenwich, Blackheath, Westcombe Park, Hither Green, Brockley and Lee.
When are you available?
I am available every weekday between 9.30am and 3pm in term-time. Weekday evenings from 7.30pm to 9pm all year round (only at my home). I have limited availability at weekends but only during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from age 11 + (Key stage 3 and above). Adult learners of any ability are welcome.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for French and English GCSE and A-Level examinations, tailoring content to the required syllabus (usually set by AQA or Edexcel examining boards). My teaching always takes into account the strengths and weaknesses of individual learners, to allow them to build on their existing knowledge and develop beyond their current level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do not hold a DBS certificate.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently teaching a group of adult beginners in French and a French GCSE candidate for 2018.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Please don't hesitate to call me today if you are thinking of language tuition. Past and present students can confirm that I really do make a difference to your results.