Find UK Tuition

English Tutor in Bristol

Helen Lewis GCSE English Tutor (Bristol)

Helen Lewis Gold Member

  • Central Bristol (BS2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification English Literature BA (Hons) 2:1
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an up to date DBS certificate

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am 39 years old, and am passionate about English and English Literature. I aim to help my students to understand what will be required of them when they sit examinations and to develop the necessary skills to achieve an excellent grade.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English and English Literature.
Tell me about your qualifications.
After gaining three A-Levels all at grade A, I completed an English Literature degree at Durham University, attaining a 2:1. I have subsequently completed a professional finance qualification.
What kind of experience do you have?
I volunteer as an English tutor via a charity called Action Tutoring. I have worked one to one, and with small groups of students in primary and secondary education. My private students consistently improve their grades, and enjoyment of English.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 per hour. When working with two or more students I charge a base rate of £25 and 50% extra per additional student (so, 2 students sharing a lesson would cost £37.50).
Where do you teach?
I teach throughout Bristol at students' homes. I will do my best to accommodate students who live near to Bristol - I currently also current teach in Berkeley, Yate, and Thornbury. I am available via Skype.
When are you available?
I am available at the weekend and on weekday evenings. I can offer lessons during the day on weekdays during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students of all ages, from primary age to adult.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11 plus, SATs, GCSE, A-Level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS certification - available on request.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am available to tutor via Skype or FaceTime. I require payment in advance for these sessions via Paypal or bank transfer.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently working with students in both primary and secondary schools. My primary school student has recently been moved to the top set in her school for English. My secondary students are all achieving great results. Their parents have reported a renewed interest and enthusiasm for English, and their teachers have noticed their progress. Recent mock results have also show that my students have improved.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I feel that it is extremely important to learn to communicate clearly and to pass an English GCSE, whether you plan to study further or to find employment. My goal is to work with you to help you to improve your skills and enthusiasm for English, focussing lessons on areas that you find challenging and that will help you most when you come to sit your examinations.