Find UK Tuition

English/ Psychology/ Study Skills Tutor in Bristol - Francis Peters

Francis Peters GCSE English Tutor (Bristol)

Francis Peters

  • Central Bristol (BS1)
  • Last Logged In: 17 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello - I'm Francis. My aim is to help you achieve your academic potential by encouraging you to discover what engages and sustains your real interest within a given topic. This makes learning more enjoyable and more successful.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
GCSE and A-Level English.
University Level:English and Humanities, as well as Education and Psychology.
Study Skills - e.g. Essay or Dissertation Writing at all levels, especially Higher Education.
Meditation for Mindfulness and personal development.
Tell me about your qualifications.
The Open University: Humanities - BA Hons, 2:1;
Cardiff University: PGCE, Further Education (teaching qualification);
University of Bristol: Master of Education, Psychology of Education.
What kind of experience do you have?
My experience consists of several years of offering tuition, typically for students looking to pass or achieve better grades in GCSE English; A-level English; Study Skills (essay and dissertation writing) at all level, especially University (undergraduate and post-graduate).

At present I am approaching the end of a (third) post-graduate level course: this is within the field of applied psychology.

I have studied and practiced mindfulness meditation for many years.
How much do you charge?
I charge £20 for proofreading and functional skills. GCSE subjects and Mindfulness: £25 per hour; A-Level subjects, Essay writing and Study Skills: £30.00 / hr; Degree level: £32.00. Some concessions possible for University students and discounts available for group lessons (up to 4 students, minimum 90 minutes tuition time).

Significant travel within Bristol will incur a £3 charge.
Where do you teach?
I teach in Central Bristol, in students' homes or in suitable and safe environments such as Bristol Central Library. I do not teach at my own home.
I am willing to travel 2-5 miles from Central Bristol.
When are you available?
I am usually available Weekday evenings; Tuesdays and Thursdays no later than 6:30pm..
Week ends - Saturday morning / afternoon; Sunday afternoon / evening.
Some day times are possible, with a little advance notice.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Typically 16+ and mature students although I can teach younger students.
Academic levels taught range from GCSE through to Post-graduate.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A-Level and Degree qualifications.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
My DBS (Enhanced) Certificate is up to date.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I offer online tuition via Skype or FaceTime.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Eligibility for Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership of the British Psychological Society.
Where and with whom did you train?
I successfully completed my PGCE in Further Education at Cardiff University.