Find UK Tuition

11+/ English/ Spanish Tutor in Clerkenwell - Eleanor Osborne

Eleanor Osborne A-level English Tutor (West Central London)

Eleanor Osborne Silver Member

  • Clerkenwell (WC2B) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 22 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification First Class BA (hons) Spanish, Portuguese, Latin American and Brazilian Studies from King's College, London
  • Professional Qualification Certificate of English Language Teaching for Adults (CELTA) from University of Cambridge
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced tutor who firmly believes that every student is capable of academic excellence given the right tuition. I particularly enjoy finding creative ways of re-inspiring students who have lost interest or confidence in their studies.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I provide private tuition for the 11+, GCSE and A-level examinations in Spanish and English Language and Literature, as well as Cambridge English certificates (IELTS, CAE and FCE). I also offer coaching in essay writing, university entrance (personal statement writing master classes) and interview technique.
Tell me about your qualifications.
2013 – 2017: BA (Hons) Spanish, Portuguese, Latin American and Brazilian Studies (First Class with Distinction in Oral Spanish and Portuguese) - King’s College, London (KCL). Including two semesters of study abroad:
July 2015 – January 2016: Pontificia Universidad Católica in Santiago, Chile.
February – August 2016: Universidade de Eduardo Mondlane in Maputo, Mozambique.
2012: Certificate in English Language Teaching for Adults, Cambridge English, Grade A.
2012: A-levels at the Royal High School, Bath
2011: LAMDA Gold Medal in Duo and Solo Acting
2010: Member of the National Youth Theatre of Great Britain
A* – English literature
A – History
A – Spanish
2011 – 2012: Head Girl at the Royal High School.

Academic Prizes:
July 2017: Baroness Von Schlippenbach Prize, awarded to two final year students for best performance during the course of the year, including in examinations – King’s College, London (KCL).
August 2015: Florence Hughes Prize awarded to the female student achieving the highest mark of the year in the second year – KCL.
August 2014: Janet Perry Bequest Prize, awarded to two students who, in their first year of study submitted the best tutorial essay – KCL.
August 2014: Henry Neville Gladstone Exhibition Prize awarded to the student with achieving the highest overall mark in the first year – KCL.
August 2014: Baroness Von Schlippenbach Prize, awarded to four students in the first and final year for best performance during the course of the year, including in examinations – KCL.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught a number of students part-time during my degree. I have provided private tutoring for GCSE and A-level English Literature; 11+ English and Creative Writing; GCSE and A-level Spanish; and general English. I carefully tailor my lessons to the student's individual needs and changing priorities. I seek to maximise my students' chances by focusing on improving both their exam technique and their understanding of the content of their course. I have found that this invariably leads to an increase in overall confidence and enjoyment. I use mark schemes and other carefully chosen resources to cover everything in the exam specification. Above all, I treat each student as an individual, trying to find the style of learning which suits them best. This allows students to progress quickly and efficiently and is a rewarding experience for students who had lost interest in their lessons at school. All my students have gone on to achieve very strong results in their examinations.

I have also taught English language overseas in language schools in Spain and Mozambique. I have taught general English to infants (ages 4-5), young learners (ages 8-9), and adults at pre-intermediate level and advanced level, in addition to one-to-one classes (adults) and conversation classes. I provided exam preparation for FCE (ages 18+), CAE (ages 15+). I also taught a class of retirees using the direct method. My responsibilities included planning lessons and tailoring materials to suit the needs of a wide range of students, as well as contributing to and chairing peer-lead, monthly professional development sessions. I received positive appraisals in observations for my dynamic teaching style and thorough planning.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40.00 p/h for the 11+, A-levels and GCSEs. Other lesson prices vary. I may be willing to offer a 15% discount for lessons booked in blocks.
e.g: a block of 5 lessons for the 11+ paid for in advance would cost £170 rather than £200 (discounted price: £34 p/h).
I do not charge extra fees for travel, apart from in exceptional circumstances. For group lessons, I charge the normal price plus an additional £10.00 per student per hour (maximum number of additional students:3).
Where do you teach?
I cannot teach at home for the time being. However I am willing to travel to students' homes at no extra cost. I cover the whole of the central London Area (Zones 1 and 2).
When are you available?
I am free Monday - Saturday from 9am - 9pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I enjoy teaching all ages and abilities from children (aged 10+) to adults.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I will offer online classes via Skype for A-level students and adults only as I don't believe this is a suitable or effective teaching method for younger students, who benefit much more from face-to-face contact. I use the Evernote application for note sharing.
Do you have a personal message for students?
First of all, congratulations on taking the time to seek out extra tuition. This demonstrates high levels of self-motivation and a commitment to your learning; qualities which will put you in good stead for your examinations to come.

I love the subjects I teach and I hope that my lessons will help you to learn to love them too! My creative teaching approach and patient manner will help you tackle the most difficult and cumbersome material with ease. During your lessons with me, you will not only gain a greater understanding of the content of your course and the exam technique required to achieve top marks, you will also grow in confidence and take away skills which will serve you for the rest of your educational and professional life: an understanding of how a text is constructed, the relationship between form, language and content, and how to build a successful written argument.