Find UK Tuition

English Lit & Drama in Sydenham, SE London

Toria Banks A-level English Tutor (South East London)

Toria Banks

  • Sydenham (SE26) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 18 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have a top class Oxford degree and over fifteen years experience helping students over their own individual stumbling blocks. I can help you become confident in understanding and writing about English and drama, and with acting skills.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English and English Literature, for A level or degree students.
Drama and Theatre Studies, for A level or degree students.
Acting, practical skills and audition preparation (particularly for drama school).
Essay writing skills, for A level and university students in any arts or humanities subject.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a First Class BA (Hons) degree in English from Oxford University, and an MA (with distinction) in Theatre from Royal Holloway College, University of London. I work professionally in the theatre as a writer and director, and as an acting teacher. I was head of Foundation Acting, at Arts Educational Schools in London for five years, from 2009-14.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have tutored students for fifteen years, and have always enjoyed helping people with their specific stumbling blocks. Students can make really quick progress once we figure out what is holding them back. I also work professionally in the theatre as a writer and director, and as an acting teacher.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour for all subjects, with your first taster lesson at the reduced price of £20. I can offer a discount for students in groups of 2 or 3.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my home in Sydenham, South East London. You can see a photo in my media. It is close to Sydenham station, and on several bus routes, and there is also parking. I will travel in exceptional circumstances (if a student has access needs).
When are you available?
I teach on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I tutor ages 16 and up.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an up-to-date DBS Certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to offer online tutoring via instant messaging, or Skpe.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of Stage Directors UK
Do you have a personal message for students?
You don't have to choose between a friendly tutor, and high standards. I don't believe in making things needlessly difficult and stressful. With a little bit of extra work, you can get a really long way.