Find UK Tuition

English/ 11+/ Philosophy Tutor in Farnham - Lisa McKnight

Lisa McKnight GCSE English Tutor (Guildford)

Lisa McKnight Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Bachelor Arts 2:1 English Edith Cowan University (Western Australia)
  • Professional Qualification PGCE (hons) in Secondary English, Edith Cowan University (Western Australia)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certified
  • Professional Membership NUT
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced and qualified QTS English Language and Literature teaching specialist for 11-18 years.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach GCSE English Literature and Language levels 9-1 for AQA, Edexcel, OCR and WJEC, KS3 National Curriculum English programme, KS2 SATS test programme (English and Mathematics), 11+ Entrance examinations, A Level English Literature, A Level English Language, A Level Philosophy and Ethics.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Bachelor of Arts 2:1 in English and Media at Edith Cowan University, Western Australia.
PGCE (hons) Secondary Teaching in English and Philosophy at Edith Cowan University, Western Australia.
Qualified Teacher Status in Australia in 1998.
Qualified Teacher Status UK in 2002.
Qualified examiner for KS3 SATS in English (2002-2007)
Qualified examiner for GCSE English Language and English Literature (2008 - present)
Various Professional development courses in schools.
What kind of experience do you have?
Teaching since 1998 in Australia, and then moved to the UK in 1999 and taught in English state schools 11-18 years. Qualified in examining in the UK to better my understanding of what is taught in the classroom and what is taught for examinations. I've always had students I've tutored along the way. Various ages and levels, including Oxbridge candidates, and others with only five weeks to go (until examinations) who needed a real boost to pass.
How much do you charge?
I charge sensible fees.
KS2 and KS3 - £35.
KS4 £45 and KS5 - £55 per lesson (1 hr).
Happy to do double lessons, fortnightly arrangements, day students (if you are repeating GCSE, for example, or attending college for A-Level). Teaching is mainly individual. If I can make a small group (if groups are compatible for example, 3 students wanting to do 11+ entrance exam practise) there is a small reduction in fees for those sessions.
Where do you teach?
As I have two teenagers I prefer to teach at home in Farnham (Upper Hale), however there may be flexibility for some travel if students live nearby. Just ask! Group sessions are always at my house.
When are you available?
My preferred tutoring times are 3.50pm until 6pm week days. However I will always look for ways to accommodate students if possible. I don’t charge for missed sessions (with reasonable notice given) and nor do I charge if you've gone on holiday. I do tutor during school holidays if you wish, and often do extra sessions. If you are a Monday student, I usually move bank holiday sessions to another day when convenient for both parties.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11-18 year olds. KS3/4/5. GCSE repeaters, College students.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, DBS certificate (portable) held.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Facetime, Skype, Messenger.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
National Union of Teaching.
An examination board (privacy policy means I can't name which one).
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a patient, thoughtful and thorough teacher and I would love to be able to help you gain confidence and understanding with approaches to your English Language and English Literature courses.