Find UK Tuition

English/ Drama/ 11+/ Dyslexia Tutor in Hammersmith - Fleur Shepherd

Fleur Shepherd GCSE English Tutor (West London)

Fleur Shepherd Gold Member

  • Brook Green (W14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 02 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Ealing, Kensington and Chelsea, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons Drama & Theatre Arts, Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Professional Qualification Postgraduate Diploma in Acting, Drama Studio London
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certified
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I was educated at Cheltenham Ladies College and Stowe School, after which I spent 3 months living in Italy studying Art and Art History.
I am an actress by training and published poet, and have had the pleasure of tutoring and mentoring since 2012.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in teaching English to A Level and beyond, but I also teach Drama, Learning support for Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, Asperger's and ADHD.

I also help with both University Entrance, Drama School Auditions; this includes support with the application process, personal statement, interview and audition technique.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from Goldsmiths College, University of London in 2008 with a 2.1 in Drama and Theatre Arts, and subsequently gained a Postgraduate qualification in Acting from Drama Studio London.

I also received a specialist qualification in studying and performing Shakespeare from RADA.
What kind of experience do you have?
As an actress, published poet and writer, I very much enjoy how this background and the creativity in these fields feed into my tuition and mentoring. As well as specialising in English Language, Literature, Creative Writing, and Drama and Theatre Studies, up to A Level and beyond, I also have experience of Special Needs Support, Homework Support for Primary and Lower Secondary students, including Maths, History, Geography and Science.

Previously I have worked with children who have been excluded from school, or who have certain challenges to learning: for example Dyspraxia, ADHD, Aspergers and Autism, as well as English as a second language.

As a mentor and tutor I have helped children with school, university and drama school entrance, exams and interview preparation both for the UK and USA. My aim for all my students is for them to develop in confidence as well as skill and breadth of knowledge throughout their period of tuition.

My specialism is in Poetry and Shakespeare and I use a variety of creative teaching methods to engage the student and enhance their own resourcefulness and imagination.

This is a selection of the books I have been working on in the past year with my English Literature students: Looking for Alibrandi, To Kill a Mockingbird, Of Mice and Men, Lord of the Flies, Frankenstein, Jekyll and Hyde, Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet, An Inspector Calls, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Animal Farm, Pride and Prejudice, All Quiet on the Western Front, The Slaughter House Five, 1984, Catch 22, As You Like It, DNA.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rates are based on the age and level the student is currently at and the level of preparation that goes into planning for each lesson. Starting at Primary school level, I charge £35. 7+, 11+, 13+ and Common Entrance are £45, GCSE £45, A level £50. University and Drama School Entrance £50 and Special Needs Support £50.

I charge an hourly fee and ask that any changes or cancelations are notified a minimum of 24 hours in advance, otherwise the full cost of the lesson will be payable.
Where do you teach?
I am based in West London so will come to student's homes in West and Central London.
For school age children, I ask that a parent or guardian is present in the home for all teaching sessions.
For adult students I suggest we meet at a library or cafe.
When are you available?
My availability is weekdays in the afternoon and evenings.
I am also available to work most bank holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach school children from age 7 - 18.
I also teach school leavers and gap year students as well as university students.
My adult students include mature students, professional actors and postgraduate students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for Key Stages 1, 2, 3 & 4 as well as 7+, 11+, 13+, Common Entrance, Public / Private School Entrance, USA High School Entrance, GCSE, IGCSE, A Level, University and Drama School Entrance.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have been DBS checked and have a DBS certificate.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently work with an American family based in London. My work with the two children includes Special Needs support, homework support and ISEE and SSAT exam preparation.

I have two English Language and Literature GCSE students.

I also have an English as a Foreign Language student.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I love tutoring, and as such, I really want my students to enjoy their sessions as well. My aim for all my students is for them to develop in confidence as well as skill and breadth of knowledge throughout their period of tuition.

I ask that students come to each session with an open mind; even if they really dislike the subject or are struggling. By working together, we can find the best way for you to get the most out of the subject and yourself.