Find UK Tuition

English/ EFL/ Business English Tutor in Ipswich - Maria Beamont

Maria Beamont English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (East Central London)

Maria Beamont

  • Clerkenwell (EC1V)
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Kensington and Chelsea, Suffolk Coastal, Tower Hamlets, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified teacher with an excellent track record of preparing students for a range of English Language, Literature exams and English as a Second Language exams (GCSE, IELTS, FCE, B1,13+ Common Entrance).
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English Language, Literature, English as a Second Language including Business English. I can create 'bespoke' learning programmes for individual needs.
Tell me about your qualifications.
2008-2010 Institute of Education, London- MA Development Education
2006-2008 University College Suffolk, Ipswich - PGCE Post Compulsory Education 2000-2002 Suffolk New College, Ipswich - Diploma in Foundation Studies Art and Design, Distinction and Best overall student award - Ipswich Fine Art and Decorative Society prize.
1981-1982 Birmingham University- Post Graduate Certificate in Youth and Community work
1978-1981 London University - BA Honours English and Sociology
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching English for 30 years including to children and adults with high success rates. My expertise is to encourage individuals who lack confidence and motivation in their written skills to achieve. I also create 'bespoke' English Language courses for clients including IELTS and Business English (Writing Emails and Reports and English Work Etiquette).
How much do you charge?
I charge £35ph, £40 for Business English.
Where do you teach?
I teach at my students' houses and online.
When are you available?
Weekdays: 11am - 8pm.
Weekends: 10am - 5pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages up to Cambridge Proficiency.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare my students for GCSE English and a range of English as a Second Language exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I do.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am quite flexible and tutor online in the times shown above. I use Zoom and Google Drive. I have experience of online learning with private language students using Skype, Zoom, Google Drive and Bitpaper.
Where and with whom did you train?
I completed my Masters in Education with teaching professionals from around the world at the Institute of Education, London which was ranked first in the 2018 QS World University rankings.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Petra - Published Children's Book Illustrator and Author - I met Petra when she first came to the UK with Beginner Level English and supported her at Degree and Masters level in Fine Art and Book Illustration. A regular exhibitor at the Bologna Children's Book Fair her first children's book will be published this year.

Yiannis - After an intense course obtained 8 at IELTS and is now studying for a Masters.

Syzmon - Quality Assurance manager in Paint Production- Confidence in Professional English including Email and Report Writing increased.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am an experienced, enthusiastic and creative tutor who is committed to establishing supportive relationships with students. I'm an excellent communicator and will make a unique programme to suit and motivate your individual learning style.My lessons are interesting and relevant with a variety of teaching methods. I will give you regular feedback and together we will work on preparing you to achieve the highest grade in your exam and enable you to feel more confident with your writing.