Find UK Tuition

English Tutor in Lancing and Worthing (Primary, GCSE) - Rosemary

Rosemary Hector Key Stage 2 English Tutor (Brighton)

Rosemary Hector Gold Member

  • Manor (BN15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 29 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.A. (Hons) in English from University of Southampton
  • Professional Qualification PGCE from Brighton University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an enhanced disclosure CRB certificate.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced and patient tutor with a proven track record of successfully helping students achieve their aims. Please contact me for a free assessment.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English Language and Literature at Key Stage 2 and 3 and EFL.This includes reading, writing, spelling, grammar, punctuation, handwriting, literature appreciation and preparation for examinations such as SATS, GCSE and the Common Entrance Exam. I also have some experience of successfully helping dyslexic students at primary and secondary levels. In addition, I am a very experienced EFL teacher and can offer tuition in all aspects of EFL, including IELTS, FCE, CAE and CPE.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a degree in English Language and Literature (University of Southampton) and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education, specialising in Upper Primary from Brighton University and have attended some courses run by the British Dyslexia Association in order to be able to help students with possible dyslexia. I also have the Diploma in TEFL. I am happy to show you my certificates when we meet.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught English within the state and private school systems for over twenty five years and I love it! I have experience of infant, primary, secondary and adult students, having taught within the UK and overseas. I have worked as a senior teacher and mentored less experienced colleagues.
I have been tutoring for the last six years and have found it very rewarding and enjoyable. I use a variety of methods and materials, from computer games to comparing different versions of texts. I love being able to see my students progress and achieve the success they are hoping for. I enjoy all aspects of tutoring, from helping less able students who are reluctant to read or write, to those who are anxious to achieve a pass or an A grade at GCSE. It's always satisfying to hear how much more they are enjoying the subject at school!
I have extensive experience of EFL and have worked as a Director of Studies and Senior Teacher.
How much do you charge?
My initial assessment is free. I like to meet the student (and parent if appropriate) to get to know them and discuss their requirements. From there I can devise an individual learning plan. I charge £25.00 per hour for Key Stage 2 lessons and £30.00 per hour for Key Stage 3 lessons. If extra support is needed for a dyslexic student, I charge £30.00 per hour. The charges include setting and marking homework.
I charge between £25 and £30 for EFL
Where do you teach?
I normally teach at my home on the borders of Lancing and Worthing, close to Shoreham and Sompting within West Sussex, providing a quiet environment without distractions. I can also tutor on Skype if required.
When are you available?
I am available weekdays in the mornings and after school/evenings. I also offer booster sessions and examination preparation during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I normally teach from the beginning of Key Stage 2 (usually approximately 7 years old) up to GCSE/adult learners.
I can teach EFL from Beginner up to and including Proficiency level students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am happy to prepare students for SATS (end of Year 6) and GCSE (including Literature). I am also happy to offer preparation for the Common Entrance Exam.
I can prepare students for FCE, CAE, CPE and IELTS.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced disclosure CRB certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to offer lessons on Skype if required.
Where and with whom did you train?
See above.
Tell me about some of your current students.
At the moment I am tutoring some students at Key Stage 2 and some others at Key Stage 3, including a student about to take GCSE, who I have been teaching for the last six years. I have tutored quite a few year 6 students for their SATS examinations, seeing them achieve levels 4 and 5, although having previously been assessed as likely to achieve level 3. I have helped GCSE students achieve a grade A (improvement from predicted C grade) and from a fail to a C grade. I have also recently tutored a student who was struggling to gain an IELTS band 7 in her writing, which she succeeded in doing after a couple of weeks of lessons, and taught a dyslexic eight year old to read.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Just because something is difficult it doesn't mean that it is impossible! Individual students have different learning styles and one of the advantages of private tuition is that these needs can be catered for within a sympathetic and supportive learning environment. I am able to tailor my teaching to meet the unique needs of each student and together we can work towards your success. I am patient, approachable and enthusiastic and would love to be able to help you.