Find UK Tuition

English/ EFL/ Thinking Skills Tutor in Malvern - Viryanaya Ellis

Viryanaya Ellis A-level English Tutor (Worcester)

Viryanaya Ellis Silver Member

  • Great Malvern (WR14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 29 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Worcester
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Linguistics & Philosophy
  • Professional Qualification MA Linguistics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS certificate
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I love teaching - either adults or young people, face-to-face or online. I particularly enjoy supporting people individually according to their needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English, Philosophy, Thinking skills including preparation for the LNAT, the BMAT and the Thinking Skills assessment, study skills, English as a foreign language.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA (hons) in Linguistics and Philosophy, a MA in Linguistics and a certificate in teaching English as a foreign language to adults.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 25 years of experience in teaching: to young people and adults, in schools, colleges and university, in groups, individually and online.
How much do you charge?
I charge £28 per hour with a free web consultation to discuss your requirements, and a reduction for a series of lessons. I charge 14p per mile to travel and extra for my time, depending on the time of day.
Where do you teach?
I teach at home and in students' homes, if they live in Malvern, Worcestershire, or nearby, such as in Colwall, Herefordshire. I am willing to travel up to 5 miles.
When are you available?
I am potentially available from Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm, except Thursdays after 6pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from age 14 to adults, GCSE to A level and pre-university.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare students for GCSE English language, A level English language, A level Philosophy, the LNAT, the BMAT and the Thinking Skills assessment, and the Cambridge Advanced English exam and the Cambridge Proficiency exam in English as a foreign language.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for online tutoring. It is helpful to have headphones and a webcam.
Where and with whom did you train?
I originally trained with the Bell School in Norwich, and have since completed many hours of professional development training with Worcester Sixth Form College.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have just finished teaching a student English Language A level who was unable to complete her college course and needed some extra support. We met for an hour a week and she felt confident and ready for the exam by the time it arrived. I am currently teaching a student in Brazil via Skype who needs English speaking practice and preparation for the Cambridge Advanced English exam.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I always tailor my teaching to your precise requirements - we start with a discussion of what you need, and the classes develop as your needs change.