Find UK Tuition

English/ History/ Latin/ Drama Tutor in Northampton - James Gillam

James Gillam Key Stage 3 English Tutor (Northampton)

James Gillam Silver Member

  • Central Northampton (NN3) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 23 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bedford, Daventry, Milton Keynes, Wellingborough
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Cantab) in Classics from Cambridge University
  • Professional Qualification Secondary PGCE in Classics from King's College, London
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I am DBS certified
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I love teaching young people and am a school teacher of eighteen years' experience. I am enthusiastic about what I teach and enjoy developing relationships with pupils to enable them to share my passions. My specialism is Common Entrance preparation.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English, History, Latin and Drama
Tell me about your qualifications.
I achieved a degree in Classics from Cambridge University. I have a secondary PGCE qualification from King's College, London. I have a Shakespeare qualification from the RSC/Warwick University.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have worked in independent prep schools for eighteen years, teaching English, History, Drama and Latin. I currently run after-school Latin clubs at four schools in Northampton, I guest direct school plays and run a youth theatre in Northampton.
How much do you charge?
My basic rate is £35 per hour. There are travel costs if I am travelling beyond ten miles from Northampton. I am happy to come free of charge for an exploratory session and a discussion.
Where do you teach?
I can teach either in my home or in the student's home. I live in Northampton but will travel up to 25 miles from Northampton.
When are you available?
I am available most weekdays (all day) and evenings. I am also available all through school holiday periods.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach KS2, KS3 and KS4 aged pupils. I tutor for entrance tests as well as public exams, like GCSEs.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS certificate.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently teaching small groups of Latin pupils at four schools in the county. Some are working towards independent school scholarship entry, some towards GCSE and some are just learning the basics! I am also currently working with some pupils in Year 10 to Year 13, directing them in a school play, The Winter's Tale.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I always encourage pupils to aim high.