Find UK Tuition

Dr Steve Chapman - A-level/GCSE English Tutor in Oxford

Dr Steve Chapman A-level English Tutor (Oxford)

Dr Steve Chapman

  • Walton Manor (OX2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 12 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have a lifelong obsession with the English language and its literature, so I'm lucky enough to have a job which is also my hobby. One-to-one attention can make a massive difference, really quickly, and I look forward to meeting you!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach GCSE English language and literature, AS and A level English language and literature, undergraduate studies in English language and literature, study skills and essay writing techniques for all humanities subjects.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA degree with first class honours in English language and literature, an MA with merit in 18th century English literature and a PhD in 19th century English literature. I also have a PGCE in secondary English teaching (I therefore have fully qualified teacher status, am registered with the Department for Education and DBS checked.)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 20 years' teaching experience, mainly teaching A levels and GCSE retakes in English in colleges of further education, though I originally trained in a secondary school. I also have four years' experience as a university lecturer in the subject. Since 2000, I have been an A level examiner, coursework moderator, and more recently a senior examiner with the leading exam board for the subject, and this has been a great help to me in helping my students to understand exactly what their examiners are looking for. I have also been a professional writer.
How much do you charge?
The first meeting with a student and (for under-18s) a parent or guardian is free and without obligation, just to explore how I might be able to help. If we then decide to proceed, I will cover the cost of travelling to your home (or sometimes another location of your choice). I charge £35 per hour for the time spent with a student, and any preparation, marking, liaising with the school and admin behind the scenes comes free.
Where do you teach?
I normally visit students in their own homes, but am happy to explore arrangements on an individual basis. I am based in Oxford, but will also visit surrounding areas such as Kidlington, Abingdon, Appleton, Farmoor, Wheatley, or anywhere else up to a similar distance.
When are you available?
I am available at any time, subject to existing appointments, and can work out of term time and at weekends if required.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach at all levels from Year 10 upwards, including postgraduate students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for English, English Language and English Literature at GCSE, AS and A level with all exam boards, and for any English degree programme.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date DBS Certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I do not tutor on-line.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at Oxford University from 1993 to 1994, gaining their secondary English PGCE teaching qualification.