Find UK Tuition

Primary English/ 11+ Tutor in Potters Bar - Neil Dunn

Neil Dunn Key Stage 2 English Tutor (Enfield)

Neil Dunn Gold Member

  • Potters Bar (EN6)
  • Last Logged In: 15 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Harrow, St Albans & Harpenden, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons English Literature and Language, King's College London
  • Professional Qualification CELTA qualification, Leeds Metropolitan University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS renewal in process as of 15 June 2018 - will update
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a full time private tutor based in Potters Bar. I have been providing high quality education services for over four years, for British and international students. I am available for new students during summer 2018: please feel free to enquire.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English for students from early years to age eleven. This includes the core skills of reading, writing, speaking and listening. I also incorporate creative writing, poetry and drama into lessons to make learning enjoyable. My approach is to guide young students towards confidence and success in tests, while also fostering a love of the English language and literature.
My subject levels include Early Years, Primary, SATS, 11+ and Common Entrance.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA Hons from King's College London in English Literature and Language. I also hold a CELTA qualification from Leeds Metropolitan University.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over four years of experience as a private tutor, teaching students of a range of ages. I have taught international students in central London while they have been travelling with their families and have been out of school in their native country. I have also taught British students in and around my local area. My calm and patient approach allows students to concentrate on the lessons and develop and express their ability.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour for sessions.
Where do you teach?
I am able to travel to students' homes, or I can host students and parents at my home in Potters Bar. I can travel to other areas including Barnet, St Albans and Hatfield.
When are you available?
I am currently available most weekdays and early evenings, and some weekends. I currently have several slots available over summer 2018. Please enquire for availability.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students from Early Years up to eleven years of age.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
SATS
7+
11+
Common Entrance
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
My most recent DBS application is currently being processed as of 15 June 2018. I will update this shortly.
Tell me about some of your current students.
One of my current students is an eleven year old boy who has travelled to the UK with his family from an Arab country and is continuing his school syllabus with private tutors.
Do you have a personal message for students?
For younger students I try to make the learning experience fun and engaging. I use a range of visual materials, especially for Early Years students. I also include word games to break up sessions, which avoids putting off younger students from enjoying using language. My lessons are planned to increase confidence and independent learning as well as gaining specific skills for academic purposes.