Find UK Tuition

English/ Art/ History of Art Tutor in Shepherds Bush

James Bowen University English Tutor (West London)

James Bowen

  • Ravenscourt Park (W12) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Ealing, Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea, Richmond upon Thames, Wandsworth
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, my name is James and I specialise in tutoring English literature, fine art, and art history to students of all ages and capabilities. I pride myself in my patience, thoroughness, and motivational skills!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in English literature, fine art, and art history. I also teach history, sociology, maths, creative writing and early years syllabuses.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Currently I am undertaking an MA in English Literature at UCL. Prior to this I attained a first class degree in english literature from King's College London, a distinction in my Access to Higher Education diploma from City College Brighton, and a distinction in Foundation Art from Central Saint Martins.
What kind of experience do you have?
I am fairly new to tutoring but I have tutored my friends and family with great success throughout their education. I recently tutored my partner through her BA at Central Saint Martins, which included a lot of work on the history of modernist painting. As well as aiding my partner through all her written BA coursework, my assistance comprised of establishing a plan of action for the third year dissertation - research methods, structuring, argumentation, drafting and final write-up, proof-reading, etc. The final grade for the dissertation was a flying first, with nine A's out of a possible nine.
How much do you charge?
My fees vary, but not by a great degree. £35 per hour is my general rate, whereas for proof-reading (outside of any session) I charge £20 per hour. I cover my own travel costs, but I do try and book in a minimum of two hour slots.
Where do you teach?
My preferred place to teach is in the student's home. I am based in West London and will happily cover that whole area. I am willing to travel further afield if I can secure a good booking (minimum two hours).
When are you available?
I am available every day except Wednesday. I am also available throughout the holiday periods.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am open to teaching all ages and most levels. I am studying for an MA so I would feel comfortable tutoring up to BA level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I am currently awaiting the return of my DBS
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For online tutoring I use Skype and we would need to book in a session at least a day beforehand. Cancellations would need to be well in advance.