Find UK Tuition

English/ Politics/ 7&8+/KS1/2 Tutor in Streatham - Jacob Shephard

Jacob Shephard Key Stage 1 English Tutor (South West London)

Jacob Shephard Gold Member

  • Streatham (SW16) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 04 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, Croydon, Greenwich, Kensington and Chelsea, Lewisham, Merton, Southwark, Sutton, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA English, University of Cambridge
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full DBS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello. I am a Cambridge University (Jesus College) graduate with a 2.1 in English. I am also an actor with an MA from Drama Centre London. I have been tutoring since January 2014 and have in excess of 400 hours of tutoring experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach:
7+, 8+ exams
KS1: English, Maths & Reasoning
KS2: English, Maths & Reasoning
GCSE: English, RS, History
A-Level: English, Politics
Tell me about your qualifications.
2007 - Manchester Grammar School: 4 A-levels: English, History, Govt. & Politics, Religious Studies (All As)
2011 - University of Cambridge: English (BA Hons) 2.1
2013 - Drama Centre London: MA Acting
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been responsible for a wide range of students from ages 6 to 18 in subjects including KS1 English and Maths to A-level Government & Politics.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour face-to-face and £30 online.
Where do you teach?
I have just moved to Streatham Common and am looking for new clients in SW London.
I also have an existing client in Notting Hill on Tuesday and Wednesday and would be interested in taking on a client that I could see on the same day.
I prefer to travel to the students' homes but I am now able to teach at home too.
When are you available?
During term time my diary contains:

Monday: clients in Balham from 4.30 to 6.45
Tuesday: clients in Notting Hill 4-6.15
Wednesday: client in Notting Hill 5.30-6.30
Saturday: client in Notting Hill 1.30-2.30

I am particularly looking for a client in the Notting Hill area from 4pm on a Wednesday and for clients on Thursday and Friday within a reasonable distance from my home in Streatham.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students aged 7-18.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
7+
8+
GCSE
A-level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have taught via Skype in the past and am comfortable doing so if preferred.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Current clients include: general English, Maths and Reasoning support for two 9 year old boys, preparing a 9 year old girl for eventually taking the 11+ exams, Maths with an 8 year old student with a view to the 11+ exams and A-level politics.

Students of mine have achieved successes such as gaining entry to prestigious schools (8+ entry to KCS Wimbledon & St Paul's Junior) and achieving an A* in Government & Politics and an offer from the University of Oxford.