Find UK Tuition

English/ Maths/ 11+ Tutor in Pewsey, Wiltshire - Helen Cola

Helen Cowlan 11+ exam Tutor (Swindon)

Helen Cowlan Silver Member

  • Pewsey (SN9)
  • Last Logged In: 26 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons) maths with Technology
  • Professional Qualification QTS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS checked throughout 22 years of teaching experience
  • Professional Membership Belonged to NAHT for many years before moving Into an advisory post.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I enjoy helping young people to find that 'penny dropping' moment. Learning isn't easy for everyone, and my approach is to make learning enjoyable and really delve into where difficulties may lie.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all primary subjects, but particularly enjoy teaching all aspects of English, including creative writing, spelling and handwriting. I also teach maths and am an all round musician. I am also happy to work with children who may have particular needs.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BSc (Hons) Mathematics with a qualified teacher status.
I am also a trained advanced facilitator and have led adult learning.
I completed 4 days of inspector training with CfBT in order to develop teacher's skills who were in my team.
What kind of experience do you have?
22 years of teaching in primary schools. 7 of these in a senior leadership role working to raise standards of teaching. I now work as an education advisor.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour. First lesson is £20. If I am required to travel more than 5 miles, I will need to charge 30p per mile to and fro. I am also happy to tutor at my house.

I am prepared to take small groups of children at a negotiated rate. Enquirer would need to prepare a suitable space.
Where do you teach?
I live and work around the Pewsey area, but could travel up to 10 miles. I would consider further, but would depend on the circumstances.
When are you available?
I am available most late afternoons, evenings and weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach 6 to 14 year olds. I can also work with children with additional needs. I also have experience of 11+ and am happy to help with exam preparation.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+ and other specific exams within the 6 and 14 year old age group.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have had an up to date DBS check throughout all of my teaching career.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am willing to consider tutoring online, however, this is a new medium for me. I am proficient with IT and would be willing to trial this should a student want this.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belonged to the National Union of Teachers, and then the National Association of Head Teachers throughout my teaching career.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at Bishop Grosseteste College in Lincoln (linked to Hull University)
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning can be enjoyable and fun and learning is easier with a smile. That's what I aim for in my sessions. If you haven't laughed at least once, I feel like I have failed.