Find UK Tuition

English/ 11+ Exam Tutor in Witney - Coriden Francis

Coriden Francis 11+ exam Tutor (Oxford)

Coriden Francis Gold Member

  • Bampton (OX18) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Cotswold, Vale of White Horse

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification MA (Oxon) English Language and Literature
  • Professional Qualification CELTA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I studied English at Oxford and English is my passion. My aim is to develop a love of language and literature in all my students, whatever their level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I prepare students for 11+, pre-test and 13+ entrance exams in English. In addition, I teach children at KS2 and KS3.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I read English Language and Literature at Exeter College, Oxford. I also hold a CELTA from Westminster College, London.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 10 years' English teaching experience gained as a private tutor and in schools where I have taught English to both children and adults. Having taught children from aged 7-18, I now specialise in preparing children for the competitive English entrance exams.

At 11+ /pre-test I have an excellent success rate in helping children achieve places at selective west and north west London independent day schools such as North London Collegiate, Merchant Taylor's, Latymer Upper, Hampton, Colet Court, Godolphin and Latymer, Notting Hill and Ealing High. In addition I have taught a number of children to gain entry to Eton, Harrow and Marlborough.


Having relocated to west Oxfordshire from London, I am keen to bring my expertise to support children taking exams for independent schools in Oxford and surrounds.
How much do you charge?
The charge for one hour's tuition is £45/hr plus travelling expenses where applicable.
Where do you teach?
I teach lessons at home (OX18) and can travel up to 5 miles depending on availability.
When are you available?
I am available on weekdays from 3.30pm during term time. I have limited availability during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children from Year 5 to Year 8.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I hold an Enhanced Disclosure Certificate.
Where and with whom did you train?
I read English at Exeter College, Oxford and gained a Certificate of English Language Teaching at Westminster College, London.
Do you have a personal message for students?
English is arguably one of the most interesting and enjoyable subjects to study. However, everyone has a unique learning style and a classroom environment might not provide the atmosphere most conducive to learning. So if your child needs thorough preparation for the 11+ entrance exam, has their lost confidence in their ability to write or neither of you can face struggling through another reading comprehension, I can help!