Find UK Tuition

Pamela Newman - A level/IB English Tutor in Farnham

Pamela Newman International Baccalaureate Tutor (Guildford)

Pamela Newman Silver Member

  • Farnham (GU10)
  • Last Logged In: 03 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification MA (hons) 2:1 English from University of Dundee
  • Professional Qualification PGCE in Secondary English from Leicester University

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As an enthusiastic and well-qualified teacher of English, with over 15 years experience, I am committed to helping my students grow in confidence and discover their love of English which is key to achieving higher examination grades.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am an English specialist and have taught KS3, GCSE and IGCSE, A level and IB Diploma. At A level I have experience of teaching both the English Language and the English Literature courses and at IB I have experience of teaching Language B English, English A Literature and English A Language and Literature.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA (hons) 2:1 English from University of Dundee
PGCE in Secondary English from Leicester University
What kind of experience do you have?
I have experience of teaching a range of English courses in a variety of contexts. I started my career as an English teacher and Key Stage 3 Coordinator for English at a Comprehensive School in Durham, UK. In Durham I taught KS3 English, GCSE English Language and Literature and A Level English Literature and A Level English Language. Then I joined a high-achieving grammar school in North London as KS4 Coordinator for English, where I taught KS3 English, GCSE English Language and Literature and A Level English Literature.

More recently, I spent over 6 years at an International School in Singapore where I held positions as Coordinator for Grade 7 and 8 English and Head of Grades 7 and 8, whilst also teaching IGCSE English and a range of IB English courses including: Language B English, A2 English (no longer running), English Literature A and English Language and Literature A.

I am currently an examiner for English Literature A (IB Diploma).
How much do you charge?
£40 per hour for private tutoring sessions. Reduced fees for larger groups.
Where do you teach?
As I have two small children, I prefer to tutor from my home in Farnham but there may be flexibility for me to travel if students live nearby.
When are you available?
My preferred tutoring times are weekdays between 7.30pm and 9.30pm or weekends (availability on Sundays only at present). However, I can be somewhat flexible and will always look for ways to accommodate students' preferred timings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11 -18 yr olds - KS3, KS4 and KS5 (A levels and IB).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I returned to the UK in July 2015, when I was expecting my second child and I have not taken up employment since I have been back in the UK, therefore I do not have an up-to-date DBS certificate. Although I have been CRB checked previously to work in two UK schools and an International School in Singapore.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Online tutoring via skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a patient, enthusiastic and approachable teacher and I would love to be able to help you to develop not only your confidence in English but also your overall enjoyment of the subject.