Find UK Tuition

Fine Art/ GCSE/ A Level Art Tutor in Brondesbury - Debbie Collis

Debbie Collis Fine Art Tutor (North West London)

Debbie Collis Silver Member

  • Brondesbury Park (NW6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 08 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons Fine Art
  • Professional Qualification PTTLS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a Fine Art graduate and practising artist with over 15 years of teaching experience to adults in FE and have run workshops for children in after school /holiday courses.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Drawing and Painting - including oils, acrylics, watercolours, line and wash,
Portfolio Preparation, Essay Writing for Art History and Contextual Art Theory,
Printmaking (monoprinting and linocut techniques) & Mosaic and also
Arts and crafts projects for younger children GCSE & A Level Art
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a Fine Art graduate from Ruskin School of Fine Art, Oxford University and have completed graduate studies in Art History at Birkbeck.
I gained a PTLLS Certificate (Teaching Adults in Lifelong Learning) in 2015 and have done SEN training for Children with mild to moderate learning difficulties.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching art to Adults in Adult FE Colleges for 3 years and have run many workshops for children of all ages and have experience in galleries, community centres as well as private tuition.
How much do you charge?
I charge from £25 (children) to £35 (adults, over 18) per hour for each lesson, however this is reduced if the lesson is 2 hours or longer.
First class is half price for trial/consultation reasons.
If you book 4 classes in advance, or there are 2 or more students then the fee is reduced by 10%.
I charge standard travel card fees if travelling within Greater London from my home (Zone 2).
If I drive to a class, there is a fee for mileage cover (£5- 10) and for parking permits/congestion charge.
Where do you teach?
I can teach at students' homes or they are welcome to have a lesson in my studio in Mill Hill (NW7) or in my home (NW6) if more convenient.
I live in NW6, very close to the tube & overground station with free parking outside.
I will be able to visit areas Queens Park, Willesden Green, Hendon, Edgware, Harrow, Ealing, Finchley, Hampstead, Golders Green, West Hampstead, Swiss Cottage, St Johns Wood, Jubilee Line and Overground from Brondesbury Station.
When are you available?
I am available Wednesday daytime 9 - 8pm, Thursday daytime 1 - 8pm, Friday daytime 9 - 8pm. I am also available at weekends.
However, if you are unavailable on these times, I can be flexible so that we can arrange something convenient for both of us.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages from young children (messy play), 8 year olds who especially love to experiment with great imaginations, to 12 and 13 year old who really want to get things right.
Then there are the children who want to pass thier exams and feel pressurized to complete course work and feel they have lost the enjoyment and motivation to get this done. I am great at helping them focus and bounce off ideas together. As for adults, I teach everyone whatever their level or previous experience.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE
A Level
Foundation Courses
Degree Courses
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
DBS
Do you have a personal message for students?
In initial classes we discuss some important learning goals, and find out what your expectations are, whether it be to take up a new hobby or enable your child to get through exams. Lessons will involve practical hands on exercises, as well as demonstrations by myself (art), useful handouts with overviews of the lesson and some homework for the next class (i.e. keeping up a sketchbook with specific tasks). I can also use art/craft projects to develop (non-native) children's English skills. Materials will be provided by the learner, however, I will be able to suggest what to purchase, and bring materials to experiment with if they are not readily available.

Most importantly, lessons will be tailored to your personal needs, or your child's. This is specifically important as you have chosen to have private tutoring - the time will be for you and I will do my best to ensure that your goals are met. I enjoy the mixture of ages that I teach so that it keeps me fresh and full of ideas.

With adult teaching, I am always seeking ways how to simplify teaching methodology, and with children to keep it fun and exciting and relevant to their own interests.