Find UK Tuition

Fiona - Spanish / English Tutor in Peterborough

Fiona Spanish (general) Tutor (Peterborough)

Fiona Silver Member

  • Werrington (PE4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Web site: www.vivalanguageservices.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: East Northamptonshire, Fenland, Huntingdonshire, Rutland, South Holland, South Kesteven
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) Spanish & Business Studies
  • Professional Qualification TESOL
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB certificate
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I help people of all ages and abilities learn Spanish, English and other languages for exams, holidays or business. Learning another language is such a worthwhile thing to do and can open up many doors. I find my work enjoyable and very rewarding.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Spanish, English as a Foreign Language and now offer French, Italian, Portuguese, German and Chinese language tuition.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have GCSE Spanish (A), A' Level Spanish (A) and a BA honours degree in Spanish and Business Studies (2:1) from Hull University. I am fluent in Spanish after studying it for over ten years and having lived and studied in Spain and Argentina. I also have a TESOL qualification.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have enjoyed teaching Spanish since 2005 to people of all ages, from 3 years old to over 80. I teach all levels, from complete beginners, GCSE, A' Level or degree level as well as adults wishing to learn for holidays or business trips, or people who plan to live in Spain or South America. I deliver training courses for international companies whose staff deal with offices and clients abroad. I run after school language clubs in local primary schools. I also offer a professional translation and interpreting service.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour. This includes lesson preparation time, all worksheets plus marking of activities completed between lessons as well as any extra advice between lessons.
Depending on the distance there may be a small charge for travel.
Two-to-one and three-to-one lessons are discounted.
Where do you teach?
I teach face-to-face lessons at home or in the client's home or office as well as virtually over Skype. I teach in Peterborough and the surrounding areas - Stamford, Oundle, Crowland, Bourne, Spalding, March, Helpston, Market Deeping, Baston, Stilton, Ramsey, Whittlesey and Corby. I can also provide tuition in other areas of the UK.
When are you available?
I am available weekdays 8.30 am - 7 pm during both term time and holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages from 4 years old to 80+ years. I teach all levels including complete beginners, children, GCSE, AS, A'-Level, degree level as well as adults returning to learn Spanish after a break or refresher lessons before a holiday or business trip.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A-level, degree level exams, IB, DELE, Institute of Linguists exams.
English as a foreign language: FCE, CAE, IELTS exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an enhanced CRB certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I offer online lessons via Skype. Online lessons are also available with native or non-native tutors in French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, German and Chinese. Payment must be made in advance of the lesson. I email relevant worksheets and exercises a few days before the lesson.
Where and with whom did you train?
Hull University and the University of Valladolid. TESOL certificate.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My youngest students are aged 4. They enjoy the lessons as I make them as "hands-on" and enjoyable as possible using flashcards, games, music, art and stories. It is amazing how quickly children this age pick up new words. I help families learn as much Spanish as possible before they emigrate to Spain next year. I am very proud of the A' Level students that I have been tutoring this past year, as they have all achieved the grades they needed to get a university place. I also help GCSE students gain confidence in Spanish for their exams. I am currently delivering corporate language training courses in Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and English (as a foreign language) for companies that deal with offices abroad. I provide cultural and language training for employees who are preparing to work and live in Spain, France, Germany, Italy or South America.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning a foreign language can be one of the most rewarding and worthwhile things you will ever do. You will be amazed at how quickly you progress with private tuition. I create my lessons to suit each person and I am always looking to find new and up-to-date ways to make learning as effective and as enjoyable as possible.