Find UK Tuition

Frank Ivins - Science/ Maths Tutor in Holland Park

Frank Ivins GCSE Science Tutor (West London)

Frank Ivins Gold Member

  • Holland Park (W8)
  • Last Logged In: 21 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Camden, Central Bedfordshire, City of London, Hammersmith and Fulham, St Albans & Harpenden, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification PhD Bio-Chemistry, National Institute for Medical Research
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certificate
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have many years of experience as a full-time personal tutor. I build the confidence, motivation, and enthusiasm essential for success in exams and beyond.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths for Common Entrance 11+, 13+, GCSE, IGCSE, A Level, IB and Pre-U.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I was a biochemical researcher at the National Institute for Medical Research in London for 10 years where I received my PhD in 2006. I studied the mechanisms behind various types of cancer and I retain a passion for keeping up to date with the leading edge of scientific discovery -- a drive that I bring to each of my students.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 7 years' experience as a full time tutor totalling more than 4,000 hours across all of the major exam boards.
I worked for 10 years as a biochemical researcher at the National Institute for Medical Research in London.
How much do you charge?
£60-£80 per hour dependent upon the hours needed and travel.
Where do you teach?
I provide tuition to students in and around Central London, as well as in and around my home town of Dunstable.
I also offer multi-media based Skype tuition to those who live outside of these regions.
When are you available?
Please contact me for my availability. My schedule is generally full, but spaces do open up occasionally.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages including those leading up to Common Entrance, 11+ and 13+, GCSE, IGCSE, A Level and IB.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I teach Common Entrance, 11+ and 13+, GCSE, A Level, IB and Pre-U.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS certificate and I'm more than happy to make this available upon request.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For face-to-face communication, I employ a range of video conferencing platforms to suit the student's needs including Skype, Google Hangouts, Facebook and more. However, the more essential tool I use is an online whiteboard where I and the student can draw and add a large range of pictures, animations and videos to create a rich learning experience.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I started tutoring out of a passion for teaching science and maths to bright, motivated students. I have since spent several years as a full-time personal tutor helping students build the confidence they need for success in exams and beyond. My core ethos is to motivate and create a sense of independence that will support each and every one of my students well into the future.