Find UK Tuition

Barbara H - French, German, English Language Tutor in St Albans, Herts

Barbara H GCSE French Tutor (St Albans)

Barbara H Gold Member

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA Hons French & English
  • Professional Qualification PGCE TESOL
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS certificate

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My students range from 5 to 69 so please feel free to contact me, no matter how old you are! Over the years I have taught students of all ages and abilities.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French (Adults, KS2, KS3, GCSE, AS and A2), German (KS3), English as a Foreign Language to any level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA Hons French and English. English TESOL.German Deutsch als Fremdsprache.
What kind of experience do you have?
I am an experienced classroom teacher, having taught in primary, middle and secondary schools. Recently, I completed a part-time TESOL course in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. I have been Head of French twice in my career and have a working knowledge of recent changes to GCSE, AS and A2 examinations. I have experience too of the Key Stage 2 Strategy in Modern Foreign Languages.I have tutored students of all ages and levels and have watched them grow in confidence and motivation.
How much do you charge?
French KS2 £25 ,KS3 £28, Adult & GCSE £30, AS & A2 £35, German KS2 £25, KS3 £28, English (EFL) £25-35 depending on the level. I am prepared to negotiate a price for bigger groups and for double sessions.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach from my home as I have all my resources at hand.
When are you available?
I am available during the day and most evenings. Suitable times would have to be arranged upon employing me as a tutor. I have some availability in July and August.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
French - any age any level. German - KS3. English as a Foreign Language - any age any level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
French - Common Entrance, GCSE, AS and A2. English - FCE,PET, IELTS
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Where and with whom did you train?
Lancaster University (BA Hons) and St Martin's College (PGCE)
Tell me about some of your current students.
At the moment, I tutor several adults who want to use conversational French on holiday. Last year, I tutored a boy who was predicted E for his GCSE French and, with my help, he achieved an A grade. I also tutor a boy who has missed a year of French and needs to catch up with the rest of his class.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Every student has his/her own particular needs and I try to meet them; that is the advantage of having a tutor. I am here to answer the simplest or hardest of questions to help you gain confidence in yourself and your subject.