Find UK Tuition

Andrew Cremer - 11+, English, French, German, Spanish, EFL Tutor

Andrew Cremer 11+ exam Tutor (Ilford)

Andrew Cremer Gold Member

  • Ilford (IG1)
  • Last Logged In: 10 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.ajbtuition.com
  • Can Travel To: Barking and Dagenham, Camden, City of London, Haringey, Havering, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Oxon) Modern Languages, University College, Oxford Class 2:1
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Modern Languages, King's College London; QTS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Yes
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a professional teacher (PGCE, QTS) & Oxford University graduate, I greatly enjoy one-to-one tutoring. In addition to 11+ coaching, I also teach English, French, German, Spanish, Handwriting & EFL. The price includes travel to your home/workplace.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
11+ (English, Maths, VR, NVR); 13+; 7+; French, German, Spanish; English skills (Comprehension, Creative Writing, Essay Writing, Handwriting & Spelling); English as a Foreign Language (EFL); Elocution & spoken English.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a 2:1 in Modern Languages (French and German) from University College, Oxford. I have passed DELE/CEFR Spanish Level A2 at the Instituto Cervantes, London. I am also a qualified Modern Languages teacher (QTS) with a PGCE from King's College, London. I gained 3 'A's at A-Level in English, French and German from Bancroft's School, and a 'Merit' in S-Level German. I speak with Received Pronunciation (Oxford English).

Please visit my website - using the link above - to find out more.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught for some time in a state secondary school in east London, in addition to undertaking a short period of supply teaching. I now focus on one-to-one teaching, and have a regular client base in London and Essex.

A large proportion of my current pupils are 11+ exam candidates.

Many of my pupils have either attended or gained entrance to high-ranking public schools such as St. Paul's Girls' School, Eton College, Cheltenham Ladies' College, City of London School for Boys, City of London School for Girls, Bancroft's, Forest & Chigwell. Grammar school successes include The Henrietta Barnet School, Woodford County High School for Girls, Chelmsford, Westcliff and others.

Recent successes in 2016-2017 include one pupil who came 1st out of 900 applicants for Woodford County High School for Girls, in addition to gaining a place at The Henrietta Barnet School, and another pupil who was awarded an academic scholarship at a London independent school.

I have lived in both France and Germany for extended periods of time, and I have recently been working on a translation of a seventeenth-century classical French text. I am also experienced in public recitation.

To hear me speak French, please watch the short video embedded on this page and also on my website (address above).

I also have experience in homeschooling, having taught both a primary school-aged pupil and an A-Level German candidate.
How much do you charge?
As an Oxford University graduate with Qualified Teacher Status (QTS), my charges are commensurate with my education, qualifications, professional expertise and results (see above and below).

My fee is also fully inclusive of my travel expenses to your home or workplace, meaning that there will be no additional charge to the published rate if your home or workplace lies within the boroughs listed above. The only exceptions to this rule are the boroughs of Westminster and Kensington & Chelsea, for which a surcharge will be levied owing to their greater distance from my tutoring base in Redbridge.

I charge £42 per hour for all work undertaken with primary school-aged children (Key Stages 1 & 2); and £45 per hour for secondary-level pupils up to GCSE level (KS 3 & 4). Thus, 7+ and 11+ coaching, and Key Stages 1 & 2 French, German and Spanish cost £42 per hour, whilst 13+ coaching and most other subjects cost £45.

Adult lessons normally cost £45.00.

A-Level French and German tuition costs £50.00 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach in students' homes or places of work in London, Essex and Kent.

Please visit my website - using the link above - to find out more about my catchment area.
When are you available?
My current teaching days are Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays & Saturdays.

Please telephone me to find out which slots are available.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach Key Stages 1-5 (ages 5-18) and adults. As a qualified secondary school teacher, my principal areas are Key Stage 3, GCSE and A-Level. However, in 2014 I undertook further professional training and also carried out several classroom observations at top public schools* in the primary/preparatory phase in order to be able to teach Key Stages 1-2 effectively. Since that time I have taught many primary-school-aged children on a weekly basis.

*The schools in which I carried out lesson observations include Bryanston, Christ's Hospital, Norwich School, Radley College, Godstowe and Bancroft's Prep. I have also taught classes at Swanbourne House and Forest Prep.

Please visit my website (using the link above) to watch short video clips of lessons given to a 5-year-old French pupil and an adult EFL client.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Independent and grammar school entrance exams at 11+, 13+ & 7+; Key Stages 1, 2 & 3; GCSE; A-Level; and University.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. My DBS certificate is dated 23 January 2014, and will be available for clients to inspect at the first appointment. My degree certificate, PGCE, teacher's licence and other documentation relating to my training and expertise will likewise be offered for inspection at the same time.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at University College, Oxford; King's College, London; and the Instituto Cervantes, London.

Please visit my website - using the link above - to read my full biography.
Tell me about some of your current students.
As of May 2017, in addition to ongoing lessons, I have just completed working with some exceptional 11+ candidates who have won scholarships and places at some of the top independent and grammar schools listed above.

These successes include one pupil who came 1st out of 900 applicants for Woodford County High School for Girls, in addition to gaining a place at The Henrietta Barnet School, and another pupil who was awarded an academic scholarship at Forest School, and a Drapers' Scholarship at Bancroft's.

Please visit my website - using the link above - to read the full list of results for 2016-2017 on the 11+ Page.