Find UK Tuition

Richard Ings French Tutor Kensington Hammersmith Notting Hill Chelsea

Richard Ings A-level French Tutor (West London)

Richard Ings

  • Holland Park (W14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Hammersmith and Fulham, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I've been tutoring French privately since 2007 at all levels from KS3 through to A-level and beyond.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French
Tell me about your qualifications.
Holder of a first-class joint honours degree in French and Russian from the University of Sussex and resident for four years in Paris
What kind of experience do you have?
I've tutored 11-year olds preparing for entrance exams, GCSE, A-level students, and adults preparing the DELF exam, as well as those learning for business and pleasure.

This school year (2016-2017) my list of tutees has included three AS and A2-students (Edexcel and AQA), one Cambridge Pre-U student, one AQA GCSE student, one CIE IGCSE student, and one Common Entrance student.

Last year, two of my students sat the Westminster Challenge and were offered places - one of them on the Queen's Scholarship. Two other students successfully passed the Common Entrance exam and were admitted to their chosen schools, and several of my students received A* results in French at GCSE and A-level.

For A-levels, I have helped students with the following novels: Zola's Thérèse Raquin, Françoise Sagan's Bonjour Tristesse, Azouz Begag's Béni ou le Paradis Privé, Albert Camus's L'Etranger; plays: Racine's Andromaque, Molière's L'Avare and L'Ecole des Femmes; and films: Monsieur Lazhar, Au Revoir Les Enfants, Le Boucher, La Cérémonie, La Haine. I have also worked with a student studying the Algerian War.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour for a lesson at my home. I offer discounts on lessons over an hour, or if lessons are block-booked and paid for in advance.

I do not charge for travel that is within 15 minutes walk from my home (approximately a mile). For longer distances, please do enquire, with your postcode, for a quotation.
Where do you teach?
As the cost to the student can become prohibitive, I generally only travel to homes within a 2-mile radius of Shepherd's Bush. So this would include areas such as Holland Park, Hammersmith, Chiswick, South Kensington, Notting Hill, Earls Court, Chelsea, Bayswater and Acton
When are you available?
I teach everyday, mornings, afternoons and evenings. However, I do not generally teach in the evening on weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught all ages from 11-years old upwards, so KS3, KS4/GCSE, AS and A-levels, and adult learners, beginners, 'false beginners', intermediate and advanced.

My degree level and post-degree experience mean I am very able to coach university students, particularly those struggling with the jump from A-level to first-year university level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have helped with selective school entrance exams, including the Westminster School Challenge, GCSE and IGCSE, AS-levels, A-levels, International Baccalaureate and Bachelor of Arts.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am on Skype and have a webcam for online lessons. If you prefer to use a different internet telephone service, I'm sure that I can accommodate that!

I am available for help with essays and so on via correspondence on email - feel free to contact me with your needs. As a rough estimate, I would charge £20 to review and correct spelling and grammar issues in a 500-word essay. Stylistic advice takes longer and you may find it easier to book me for a lesson, either in person or via Skype to get the most out of my help.

I also do French- English and English-French translation. I charge £35 per 500 words, with a minimum charge of £35.
Tell me about some of your current students.
This school year (2016-2017) my students have included three AS and A2-students (Edexcel and AQA), one Cambridge Pre-U student, one AQA GCSE student, one CIE IGCSE student, one Common Entrance student and two adults learning for pleasure.
Do you have a personal message for students?
It is important to tailor lessons specifically to a student's needs, but my general method is to engage him or her at a level just above their 'comfort zone'. Learning is about challenging yourself to do better, and it is crucial for a tutor to be supportive and encouraging, and also to keep the bar high.

Lessons can be conducted entirely in French, or in a mixture of English and French. I can work alongside a student's existing course (that is, from a textbook a student is already following), or we can use course books that I recommend.

Where the level allows, I like to draw upon material from contemporary sources such as French news magazines.

For "conversation classes", I find it is useful to base the discussion on an article or a book to help build vocabulary, and also think that incorporating grammar instruction (where appropriate) can be a good idea.