Find UK Tuition

Jan Gore - French Tutor in Hounslow, Richmond, Twickenham, TW

Jan Gore GCSE French Tutor (Twickenham)

Jan Gore

  • Central Hounslow (TW3)
  • Last Logged In: 08 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Richmond upon Thames
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, my name is Jan Gore. I enjoy teaching French language and literature, and would like to help you achieve your full potential. I'm calm and encouraging and can help you improve your confidence, as well as your grades, in French.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French (from KS3 to A level); I am currently teaching some French language courses for Kingston University and have recently offered hints and tips on GCSE French assessments. I have tutored a number of students for GCSE French; most have gained a grade A, and all have improved their predicted result by an average of two grades. Last summer one got an A*, a significant improvement on his original predicted B. I have provided a quick course on "French for ski holidays" for a ski instructor, and helped another student catch up on French revision for GCSE; last February I helped an A level student with a crash course in revision. I have also taught mature students "French for the holidays"; this gave one student the confidence to run a relative's smallholding in the Haute-Garonne for a month. More recently I have helped a couple gain expertise in practical French so that they can go and renovate their home in France. I can also help you improve your writing skills, including essay writing and research tips.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a First class BA honours degree in French from the University of Exeter, and a Master's degree in eighteenth century French literature.
I trained as a librarian and have a Diploma in Librarianship from Manchester Polytechnic.
In 2011 I gained my Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS) qualification at level 4 at West Thames College.
I have been teaching French at Kingston University since January 2013.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have considerable experience of one-to-one tutoring and coaching. It has formed a large part of my career. As part of my job I trained senior civil servants one to one and gained 100% positive feedback.

I volunteered to study for a teaching qualification (PTLLS) where I specialised in French. I enjoyed this so much I decided to change career.

I'm now working as a freelance tutor and University lecturer. To date I have done intensive coaching for GCSE French and English (language and literature), A level French and revision for KS3 French. I am now tutoring for GCSE French and IGCSE French for summer 2018 and beyond.

I am also teaching classes in beginners' and improvers' French at Kingston University. I have been lecturing for the Kingston Language Scheme at Kingston University since January 2013. I can also offer focussed sessions on "French for the holidays", or "Second home in France? French to help you cope"

I visit France several times a year, most recently Nice and Brittany, to help keep my French language skills up to date.
How much do you charge?
£32 for tutoring up to GCSE, £35 for A level. I'm willing to offer the first 30 minutes free, as a taster, so that we can discuss your requirements and you can see whether we'd work well together.
Where do you teach?
I live in Hounslow. I'm willing to teach at home, but can come to your home if you prefer. I'm currently tutoring in Hounslow, Hampton and Twickenham; I have also taught in Kingston, St Margarets, Whitton, Strawberry Hill, Isleworth, Ashford and Ealing. Willing to travel to Richmond, Twickenham, Teddington - other areas by arrangement.
When are you available?
I'm available most daytimes and evenings, also weekends. If you need more intensive coaching over the holidays, this can probably be arranged.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I'm currently teaching pupils aged from 14 to 28, mainly for GCSE and KS3 and some adult beginners. In the past I've tutored people aged from 10 to 85.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current enhanced CRB disclosure certificate
Where and with whom did you train?
West Thames College PTLLS level 4
Tell me about some of your current students.
They are fun to teach. Our lessons focus on the areas where they need extra practice, and it's great to see the rapid improvement in confidence and understanding.