Find UK Tuition

Colleen Barton - French Tutor in Guilsfield, Powys, Welshpool, Montgomery, Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Colleen Barton GCSE French Tutor (Shrewsbury)

Colleen Barton Silver Member

  • Guilsfield (SY21)
  • Last Logged In: 08 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B A Hons French Studies Upper Second
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Post 16 University of Newport

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
*NEWS* Hal price taster sessions available for June* I aim to develop each student's French language skills in an encouraging, safe, custom-made setting.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French (primary to adult education). With private tuition, I consult with each student their requirements and wishes, so as to put together a programme of study that suits them best.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a French Studies BA (Hons) awarded by CNAA, Upper Second Class Honours and Postgraduate Certificate of Education awarded by the University of Wales, Newport.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have provided private and small-group tuition to GCSE and A Level French students, run French classes for adults looking for skills upgrade or to move to France. I have also taught afterschool French classes to primary school children and their parents to encourage their language learning and one-on-one tuition to early starters (KS1) in the language. I have helped MLF undergraduates to improve their French as a second foreign language to add to their own teaching skills. Having lived and worked in France and French-speaking Canada for many years, I can offer a good level of linguistic proficiency and cultural insight.
How much do you charge?
My charges now depend on the level/ key stage, degree of commitment on the part of the student and their means to pay. I am prepared to discuss this with prospective students based on their individual circumstances.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach at my home, but am willing to travel within about a three mile radius of Welshpool.
When are you available?
I am flexible about times and days of the week and would be very glad to let you know availability on enquiry.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I welcome all ages and tailor my lessons to specific needs for exams ( for example GCSE and A Level), work and life skills upgrades and leisure.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE French, A Level French
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I do not currently offer online tutoring.
Where and with whom did you train?
I studied for my French Studies BA Hons at the University of Portsmouth and I studied for my Postgraduate Certificate of Education with the University of Wales Newport in the Coleg Powys franchise. I also lived and worked in France for a number of years.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am dedicated to helping you develop your linguistic skills in French, to the level and in the fields of study that you require; whether it be for passing exams and getting qualifications or for generally improving your skills in the language and your knowledge of French and francophone cultures. Whatever your level of prior learning and aspirations, I am committed to making your learning of French enjoyable and inspiring.