Find UK Tuition

11+ Tutor in Camden Town - Gabrielle Collett-White

Gabrielle Collett-White 11+ exam Tutor (North West London)

Gabrielle Collett-White Gold Member

  • Camden Town (NW1)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA Cambridge University
  • Professional Qualification PGCE (outstanding)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced tutor for children aged 5-12 years. As well as being a great teacher, I have an excellent track record of helping children (and parents) through the London Independent and selective School entrance process.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach primary age maths and English, verbal and non-verbal reasoning, and prepare students for the 7+, 8+, 10+ and 11+ exams including the ISEB pre-test and CAT tests. I also do interview preparation and general confidence building sessions to enable children to shine in interviews. I also offer child assessments and school consultancy sessions for parents wishing to find out more about schools and exam preparation.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a degree from Cambridge University, a PGCE from The Institute of Education UCL and I teach in an outstanding primary in London.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught children in Primary School for many years (both KS1 and KS2) and have successfully tutored children for entry into selective state and independent schools including Highgate, Henrietta Barnet, Westminster, St Paul's Girls and Boys, City of London Boys and Girls, North London Collegiate, UCS, Sevenoaks and many more. I also provide a consultancy service to parents needing advice on where to send their child and how to navigate the school selection process.
How much do you charge?
I charge £60 per hour for tutoring. Consultancy fees are available on request.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my home in Camden Town.
When are you available?
I am available weekday evenings, weekends and school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all primary age children 6-11 years.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
7+, 8+, 9+, 10+ and 11+ and SATS
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date DBS Certificate
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have tutored on line and with a good Skype connection have found it can work really well!
Where and with whom did you train?
I studied at Cambridge University and UCL
Tell me about some of your current students.
I tutor a range of students from 7+ to 11+. Current students are now gaining places at Highgate School, City of London Girls and Boys, St. Pauls, UCS, Westminster, North London Collegiate, South Hampstead and many more.
Do you have a personal message for students?
All children benefit from excellent, bespoke tutoring that is tailored to their needs and their way of learning. My goal with each child is not only to furnish them with the skills they need but also build confidence and a love of learning. I am preparing children not only to do well in exams but also to progress confidently onto the next stage of their school life.

Learning needs to be rigorous but it also needs to be inspiring. I find that my students thrive from the one-to-one attention that they get and progress quickly. Generally children are hungry to learn if they have a passionate and compassionate teacher. Parents regularly tell me that as a result of our work together, their children are enjoying school more and feeling more confident.

With schools increasingly looking for the well-rounded child, I use drama techniques to encourage children to express themselves more creatively and imaginatively in their writing and their speech. This element of my teaching has also been invaluable for improving performance in interviews, allowing children to be their best self rather than an obviously coached child.

I also believe that effective tutoring is facilitated by strong communication between tutor and parents. I give regular updates and clear guidelines on homework.

I have lots of great advice for children and parents and know how to make learning fun while being focused on the goal. I pride myself on never having taught a child who didn't enjoy their sessions - many of my students ask to come back even after successfully gaining a place at their chosen school!