Find UK Tuition

GCSE/ A Level Maths Tutor in Epsom,Sutton,Surrey

Mary Fox GCSE Maths Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Mary Fox Gold Member

  • Epsom (KT18) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Bsc honours in Chemical Engineering (2.1)
  • Professional Qualification Qualified Certified Accountant
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB (2010)
  • Professional Membership Fellow of the Association of Certified Accountants
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
If you want to learn maths in a relaxed and encouraging environment then look no further - I will help you to enjoy maths again ( and pass your exams with excellent grades!!).
Which subject(s) do you teach?
11 plus entrance
QTS numeracy skills
GCSE Maths
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BSc honours degree in Chemical Engineering. I am a qualified accountant. I have successfully completed a teaching award (PTLLS).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring from my home for nearly 10 years now. Although the bulk of my tutees require GCSE maths tuition, I also tutor 11 plus entrance and QTS numeracy and literacy skills. Having successfully tutored my son and daughter for entrance into Sutton Grammar and Nonsuch school respectively. I have a wealth of material and experience.
On-line tuition has allowed me to help students from different parts of the country. I also help home-tutored students with maths and English.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour for GCSE and £30 per hour for 11 plus and QTS skills.
Where do you teach?
I generally only teach from my home in Epsom. Tutees need to be able to drive to me or walk from Epsom station ( 25 minutes) as I am not near public transport.
I am very comfortable with on-line tuition and my recent students have enjoyed the flexibility that on-line tuition affords them.
When are you available?
During the day and sometimes school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Age 12 to adult.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE maths (Edexcel and AQA)
11 plus entrance into Sutton and Cheam grammar schools.
QTS numeracy skills
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an enhanced CRB check
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor on-line during the day. I tutor via skype so all you need is a computer and skype account!
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently tutoring students from year 8 up to adult learners. I have had many A* GCSE tutees and a recent tutee, who attained an A grade at GCSE with me,has gone on to achieve her QTS numeracy skills award under my tutelage.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have been tutoring GCSE maths both higher and foundation level for 10 years now.Many students have attained A* and A grades.
Application is the key!! My lessons have a very practical footing and my students will be consolidating their learning with much question practice and completion of past papers.
I have also had great success with the QTS skills in numeracy. However I must stress that the tutee will normally need at least 10 lessons to pass QTS as the exam has more in common with statistics GCSE than GCSE maths!