Find UK Tuition

Geoffrey Parfitt Maths tutor Dorridge Solihull

Geoffrey Parfitt A-level Maths Tutor (Birmingham)

Geoffrey Parfitt Silver Member

  • Dorridge and Hockley (B93) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 12 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Birmingham, Redditch, Warwick & Leamington Spa
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc. Mathematics (University of East Anglia)
  • Professional Qualification MSc. Knowledge Based Systems (Heriot Watt University)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Latest Enhanced Certificate issued 30 April 2014
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
After leaving industry to retrain as a teacher, I have developed wide experience of mathematical private tuition assignments. I can prepare students for particular examinations, or the skills they need for the classroom or workplace.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics and Statistics are the subjects where I have the confidence to teach to a high professional standard, and most of my assignments are at GCSE and AS/A2 level. My Mathematics degree gives me the technical depth and flexibility that unfortunately some school and college teachers lack. I have found good success with assignments to prepare students for multiple AS/A2 level resits (See my article on that subject). I am also happy to help with 11+ preparation, where pupils of that age respond well to my friendly approach to teaching. I have helped adults with preparation for work related exams, including the mathematics for pilots and air traffic control. I have posted testimonials, but I can also put a new client in touch with a previous client who I have helped with a similar assignment.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My first degree is BSc. in Mathematics from the University of East Anglia. My higher degree is MSc. in Knowledge Based Systems from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh. I have also aquired a City & Guilds teaching qualification for Adult & Further Education. I have taught in the classroom, but private tuition is my main business.
What kind of experience do you have?
In my time as a tutor I taken a wide variety of assignments involving Mathematics or Statistics, but my main work continues to be preparation for GCSE and AS/A2 and Higher IB examinations. This gives me high confidence in taking on new assignments, but I always take care to ensure I am the right person for an assignment by meeting clients to discuss the assignment and student needs in depth before any commitment to arranging sessions.
How much do you charge?
RIGHT NOW I AM OFFERING AS/A2 MATHS TUITION AT A REDUCED RATE AT OFF PEAK TIMES WITH FREE TRIAL LESSON. I always offer a first meeting at no charge to discuss the needs of the pupil and the help I can provide. At that meeting, I am also happy to teach for 20 minutes to confirm that the pupil is comfortable working with me. As a self-employed tutor working on my own I have the flexibility to offer special rates for particular tuition assignments, such as reduced rates earlier in the day. Younger pupils may have sessions of less than an hour, and the fee will be reduced accordingly. There may be an extra charge for travelling outside my usual area.
Where do you teach?
I am based in Solihull, and most of my tuition takes place within ten miles of home in the West Midlands and Warwickshire. I will travel further if convenient meeting times can be arranged. For school age pupils I prefer to teach in students' own homes, where a parent will be nearby. However I am happy to teach adult pupils in my home where that is more convenient for them.
When are you available?
Private tuition is my main business, and generally I make myself available seven days a week, from 10am to 9pm. During the week, I try to reserve the period of 3.30pm to 7.30pm for school pupils. I will consider assignments at any time of year, but may not be always available during the summer school break.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have had success teaching Mathematics to students of age 8 years and above, and I can also deal with the help that adults may need with Maths related courses and training. I have often helped with preparation for 11+ examinations. I know well the topics included within school Mathematics at SATS, GCSE, and A Level. Many undergraduates have also used my services as a tutor, often with the Statistics aspect of different degree courses.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Most of my clients are preparing for Maths GCSE or A level exams. I am usually helping a few younger students with 11+ skills. I'm also on the Jaguar Landrover Education Providers List, which means helping Engineering undergraduates.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. Through my work for Saint Martins School in Solihull, my Disclosure Number is 001181060617.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My personal message for students is that tuition with me does not need to be painful for either of us. I do not set work to be done as "homework" unless asked to do so. The important work is done during the coaching I give in the time we are together.