Find UK Tuition

George Bowman - Maths Tutor in Newham/Greenwich/Tower Hamlets

George Bowman A-level Maths Tutor (East London)

George Bowman Gold Member

  • Royal Docks (E16) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 22 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Greenwich, Tower Hamlets
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc Mathematics and Statistics University of Nottingham
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary Mathematics Buckingham University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS certificate.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Maths graduate with experience of teaching in higher education, and both independent and state secondary schools. In addition has over 10 years experience of private tuition ranging from key stage 2 to adult learners.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics at all levels up to undergraduate. Happy to tutor all A-Level Maths and Further Maths modules.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I attained bachelor's degree in Mathematics from the University of Nottingham in 2006.
I attained my PGCE in secondary Mathematics from University of Buckingham in 2016 (whilst already in post) and completed my NQT year in 2017.
What kind of experience do you have?
As part of my previous job at Imperial College I taught remedial calculus and algebra to Geology and Engineering undergraduates receiving excellent feedback from my students, which you can view by clicking on the 'View My Full Profile' button above. In 2014 I entered into secondary teaching, and went onto attain PGCE (secondary Mathematics) from University of Buckingham. I taught for three years at a leading independent school in Surrey and have recently transferred to a comprehensive school in Newham where I teach GCSE and A-Level pupils Mathematics and advanced engineering modules.I have been a private tutor in my spare time since leaving university.
How much do you charge?
Tutorials are £35 or £40 per hour depending on level, inclusive of travel.
Where do you teach?
I am usually able to travel to my student's houses but if more convenient can tutor at my own home or at another agreed location.
When are you available?
Midweek evenings and Sundays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all levels up to undergraduate with a focus on GCSE and A-level students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
SATS, GCSE, AS, A2, undergraduate level: vector calculus, differential calculus, set theory, group theory, metric (and topological) spaces, linear algebra.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have an enhanced DBS certificate as a current teacher.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
If you would prefer a skype tutorial then I am happy to arrange this and would charge £25 per hour.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am passionate about maths! Sad I know but you get the benefit of someone who is keen to teach the subject and has the patience and understanding required to do so. Also, I have been through GCSEs, A-levels and my degree course in the (relatively) recent past so am aware of the challenges the current syllabuses present and common problems for students from both personal experience and my tutoring.