Find UK Tuition

Martina Brierly - German/Spanish/ French Tutor in Kingston

Martina Brierly GCSE German Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Martina Brierly Silver Member

  • Norbiton (KT5) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Merton, Mole Valley, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton, Wandsworth
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons in International Business, German degree in Languages, Dip Trans for German - English
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Kingston University for German, Spanish and French
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check fully CRB/DBS checked
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am patient and gentle but have high expectations and will stretch you to reach your potential. I enjoy sharing my enthusiasm and believe that everyone can learn a language to a very high standard.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I excel at preparing students for GCSE, AS and A level exams in German (especially AQA and Edexcel) and I teach from complete beginner all the way up to University level. I also teach Spanish up to GCSE and French up to year 9. I have years of experience helping students learn English as a foreign language as well as preparing younger students for the 11+ entry exam.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My first degree was earned in Germany where I studied Business together with English, French and Spanish. I later added a BA Hons degree in International Business as well as a Diploma in Translations E/G. Furthermore I achieved a post grad PGCE at Kingston University teaching German, French and Spanish.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught many students between 14 and 60 in Japan and Dubai in English and German as a foreign language. In England I prepared students for GCSE, AS and A level exams in German at a school in Guildford with excellent results. Furthermore I also spent time teaching at state and Grammar schools in the Kingston and Tolworth area. I currently tutor on a one-to-one and small group basis.

I started my life close to Heidelberg in Germany and moved to England some 20 years ago. During the past 15 years I have also lived and worked in places as far as Madrid, Tokyo and Dubai and can draw from a wealth of experiences learning languages as diverse as Latin and Japanese myself as well as teaching European languages to individuals, small groups, large classes in non-selective schools and top sets in Grammar schools in a variety of cultural settings. I can offer high-quality and tailor made lessons. I understand not only how language acquisition works, but also that each student has their own learning style and how to adapt my teaching appropriately. Moreover, I am acutely aware of the importance of languages in the world our children live in and am passionate about the benefit and pleasure which learning a language can bring.
How much do you charge?
Initial consultation lesson £20/hr
German/ Spanish up to GCSE £35/hr
German AS and A level £35/hr
German at undergraduate level £40/hr
Proof reading of translations (German-English, English-German) £36/hr
Translations (German-English, English-German) of general business correspondence, brochures, leaflets, website content £0.06 per word
Company based pupils please enquire for charges.
Diesel Supplement £1 per mile
Where do you teach?
I mainly teach from my home in Surbiton, Surrey but will travel to students in a 5 mile radius depending on available time slots.
When are you available?
Currently some slots are available during the week during normal school hours, as well as after-school and evening times (at my home). Some slots on Saturday.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Students at KS2 for 11+ entry exam; German, Spanish and French and KS3, German and Spanish at KS4 and German GCSE, AS and A level up to undergraduate level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE German
AS and A level German
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I hold a current DBS Certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I teach German at all levels via Skype - please ask for details.