Find UK Tuition

Graham Richardson - A-level Maths Tutor in South East London

Graham Richardson A-level Maths Tutor (Bromley)

Graham Richardson Silver Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc(Eng), MS in Electrical Engineering
  • Professional Qualification PhD in Psychology
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB Disclosure No: 001194101742
  • Professional Membership Chartered Psychologist and Associate Fellow, The British Psychological Society
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a retired university lecturer with a background in electrical engineering, computer science, and psychology and offer tuition in maths, and science (especially physics).
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am able to offer maths and physics from primary up to 'A' level, and general science (biology, chemistry, and physics) up to GCSE level. I am familiar with the maths and physics specifications of all the main examination boards (AQA, Edexcel, OCR, OCR (MEI) and WJEC). A number of my students have been following courses in IGCSE Maths or Science or the International Baccalaureate (IB) in Maths or Physics. I can offer tuition in research methods and statistics at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc (Hons) in Electrical Engineering, Imperial College. MS in Electrical Engineering, New York University. PhD in Psychology, Cambridge University.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a dual background in Electrical Engineering and Psychology and retired in 2007 after 20 years as a University lecturer. At different stages in my career I taught both Software Engineering/ Artificial Intelligence and Psychology. I have been tutoring (maths, general science (GCSE), physics (A level), ICT, and psychology (A level and University level) since March 2008. My tutees range in age from 6 years to 70+
How much do you charge?
Travel Fees Up to 5 miles: no charge. From 6 to 10 miles: sliding scale between £2 and £8. I prefer not to travel further than 10 miles, but would not rule out provided session was at least two hours.
Where do you teach?
I can teach in the student's home, but not at my home at present. I am able to travel to students in SE London, Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich and Kent, within 10 miles of Bromley (BR1 5RF). See above for travel charges above 5 miles. NOTE: During the summer holiday I am not available for in-person tuition but can offer lessons via Skype on weekdays and weekends.
When are you available?
Weekends (Friday (pm), Saturday (all day) and Sunday (all day) only). NOTE: During the summer holiday I am not available for in-person tuition but can offer lessons via Skype on weekdays and weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Ages: 5 years to adult Levels: KS1 to KS5 + FE/HE
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype and email
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The British Psychological Society (Chartered Psychologist and Associate Fellow)
Do you have a personal message for students?
My approach is to assess the pupil's needs, strengths, and weaknesses carefully at the outset in order to develop a set of goals based on this assessment. The aim is to provide well-structured and clearly presented instruction, which if the student is able and well-motivated will generally lead to progress. If the pupil is poorly motivated and/or has acquired unhelpful learning habits then may need to vary the approach in order to re-engage their interest and/or find a level at which they can perform successfully, and then build on this accomplishment. For relaxation: I listen to jazz and blues.